[Real Success #4] - Why Do I Get Anxious Whenever I Start to Speak English?

in #dogecoin6 years ago

Once, I saw a notebook that belonged to one of the presidents of the United States whose name I don’t remember, in a documentary about American History. The notebook contained a list describing the spheres of influence of the United States. The president had written “100%” next to Turkey.

I was brought up with the idea that the American way of life is the best in the world and I was taught that, if I wanted to see a prosperous and successful country, then I needed to work towards that goal. Actually, this isn’t completely wrong. However, there is a big “but” we need to address here.

As a child who loved science, I used to believe that Westerners (especially Americans) were all-mighty Ubermenschs. To give a better example, superheroes... I considered them supernatural beings. All in all, they’d managed to reach the Moon, right? :)

Then the age of the Internet came and I began to witness all the facets of the American life, from the social security system to the racial oppression and to the lives of the poor. The things I saw allowed me to make my own judgements objectively. 

Although some parts of American life are still very attractive to me, as an adult (also as a molecular biologist), I don’t think any culture is superior to another. Unfortunately, certain ideas may have been ingrained or hard-wired in my brain, maybe in my subconscious. So, given that the spoken language is involved in the subconscious processes, my inferiority complex can explain my anxiety.

Now it’s time to heal myself! :)

Dear native speakers and advanced learners of English: Your feedbacks would be appreciated.

Dear readers: if you think this article is helpful, you can donate DOGECOIN to support this blog. 

Dogecoin wallet: DP1fVvTUsTX6g6ubMnfC4qSk2Wmw3D3wXy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67203.60
ETH 3513.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20