In the beginning there was Dogecoin

in #dogecoin7 years ago

I promised to share some Dogecoin stories. I meant to do this sooner, but vacation, and life has me busy. Let's get to it.
In the beginning there was Dogecoin! How ironic that I found Dogecoin out of spite. Two weeks before the launch of Dogecoin I had a heated discussion with a friend about Bitcoin. I was always a hard money gold guy. I spent about a decade studying Austrian economics (Mises.org). The discussion went into my friends favor fairly quickly, because of my distaste for central economic planning. It didn't take long for me to understand the freedom, and convenience cryptocurrency had to offer. After a few days of research I knew I was lost as far as the code, but could understand the concept. I have been fairly successful with twitter accounts in the past (political, sports, promotion) so I figured I would open a crypto account. I was crypto broke, and figured if people stand on exit ramps with their hands out why don't I do the same thing but virtually (@bitcoinbegger). For clairification I realize my user is spelled wrong, but come to find out I was late to the game. Someone else already had the @bitcoinbeger username. I figured I'll add an extra G and play drunk. Basically that decision turned my reality upside down.
My first two weeks with my twitter account I realized that bitcoin people were vein. They ignored me, and I figured this was typical. I watched bitcoin climb from a few hundred bucks to an ath around $1200. At that time I understood why bitcoin peeps were short with me. They were dealing with a lot of money and I had $0 invested. I found a few faucets played a little bit, and was ready to throw in the towel. That's when I saw a tweet that made me laugh. Jackson Plamer tweeted about his launch of Dogecoin. The launch tweet was sarcastic, and I liked it. I figured maybe I will help promote this silly coin, to spite my experiences with the bitcoin community. I began retweeting and creating Dogecoin memes. In just a handful of days I had made about 25 friends on twitter and Reddit. We all had the same attitude towards Dogecoin. We just wanted to have fun. While I was promoting Dogecoin I started getting blowback from other crypto communities. I even had my twitter account flagged, and dropped. Come to find out other communities were flagging my account to slow down my promoting of Dogecoin. As frustrated as I was I couldn't understand why someone would want to sabotage me. Looking back it's comical. I now know everyone wants to sabotage everyone here, and why not almost everyone is anonymous? It did not stop with my flagged account. I had people setting me up to look as if I was a scammer. They even created an account that looked identical to mine in order to scam and blame me. That fake account (bitcoinbeqer) is still around to this day. After about a week of this I decided it was time to hang them up. I announced that in order to save face I was going to move along. Go back to tweeting politics, and promoting. The response I received in regards to deleting the account was overwhelming. I had complete support from the community, and it lit a spark in my tail. After a few conversations with fellow users I decided to avoid negativity, and grind.
What took place over the next few years baffles me to this day. Dogecoin became a morale magnet. It seemed as if every single person involved had the same intentions as me. We wanted to help people all while having fun. We realized that Dogecoin wasn't just a "doge on a coin" but if you compiled enough of them that you could help others. In just a matter of a few days we raised enough money together organically to send the Jamaican bobsled team to the Olympics. This gave us some serious momentum. Crypto news sites were writing about our accomplishments, and calling out our go lucky spirit. While we were in community helping others (pizza for the homeless, etc) some were working on platforms for us via Dogecoin wallets, payment processing, atms, etc. The two groups (promotion, devs) started to work together. At this time we were unstoppable. At any given moment we would toss up an idea for raising money for a cause, and before you would blink a site would be set up with a Dogecoin address to donate to. With me realizing this I had my own cause I had been contributing to for years and figured why not bring this to the community? In just one day I had already drummed up enough support to raise money for Living water international. In one week of donations we raised $1000 usd for Living water. For me personally to this day this was my biggest accomplishment in crypto. It wasn't a major success, but for me I am still thankful to those that donated. I did receive some blow back from the community about the ministry I had selected. Living water is a Christian organization, and a large group of the community wouldn't donate for this reason. Another Individual liked my idea and started a fundraiser to raise Dogecoin for water wells via a secular group. Water wells are a big part of where my heart is. I didn't care who the organization was as long as we were helping people. We were able to raise 10,000$ usd for this group. This was enough money to drill one well (Amazing!). To think there are people drinking water to this day because of us is humbling. In this time Dogecoin was on fire. We had surpassed Bitcoin in subscribers on Reddit. We passed Bitcoin in followers on twitter. Our marketcap was exploding, and shibe were tipping any/everyone that said the word Dogecoin. I tipped, and was tipped millions of Dogecoin, and enjoyed every single one. At this time we were on top of the blockchain. Nothing could stop us! Then it happens...
Thanks for joining me on this first part. I left you hanging. If you want more please let me know. If not thanks for reading this far into it. I can promise you it gets better. Thanks again!

@bitcoinbegger

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. I enjoyed reading. Upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you so much!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48