A Sad Anniversay

in #dog6 years ago

March 29th, was my 10th wedding anniversary. My beloved Xavier, X-Men, X, passed. He was nearly 8 years old. He was black and white, with one good-eye and a scar across the top of his head. He was ferocious! Although he was barely 8 inches high, he stood proudly against that bulldog on that day, in his mind he was so much larger than that other dog. He fought oh but a minute, and found himself in the grips of sharp, painful teeth and jaws. Jaws slobbering blood and sweat and slick spit all down his face as his eye nearly popped out. It took a struggle to get him free, it took strength to take him inside, wrap him in a towel and drive him to the vet. He was blinded in one eye, and had staples across his head. He healed in his way, and he remained ferocious. That is until the morning of the 29th, of March 2018. My husband found him playing under the front porch,gone forever,as if in a breathless,sleep. I haven't cried, I won't cry, he was my little hero. He stood tall, much taller in his mind than that big bully of a dog, protecting what was his. He took his beating, he never wavered. He stood tall, until the end. Happy Anniversary Xavier, my forever hero.

Sort:  

In general, smaller breeds live longer than larger breeds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55948.41
ETH 2523.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31