Every boy needs a dog

in #dog8 years ago

Almost 11 years ago I was a young single mom. I was convinced that my son needed a bunny. We were going to litter box train this bunny and that would be our family pet.
My sister heard of this plot and convinced me to go to the shelter with her. She made sure I had my son (who was 1 1/2) with me.

Even though looking at each of these dogs was heart wrenching. We found the "one". Miles our shepherd/asshole mix. There was instant love between him and my son. From that moment on they have been inseparable.

My sister likes to tell me "see, a dog is much better than a bunny." In the early chewing days I would have gladly traded him in for one though. Looking back, I'm glad I stuck it out.

When I met my now husband he had a rescue dog also. Our boxer Boobs. Who proves my favorite joke of "if you're pretty you don't have to be smart". He is inseparable from our oldest son.

He would go on escapee walk abouts and for some reason only our son could get him to come home. He also loved to put clothes on Boobs (who was not thrilled but took it like a champ).

When I was pregnant with our third son I made the mistake of taking my husband to Petco on a Saturday. They of course had the shelter dogs there. He was instantly in love with Sophie. Our boxer/pit mix. I was very skeptical how this would work with bringing home a new baby.

The day we brought home our third son she was attached. She would search the house to find and lick him any chance she could get. They are best friends and are usually getting into trouble together.

Three dogs for three boys. I couldn't imagine my life without my fur babies. They watch over my boys and are so much a part of our lives. My boys learn responsibility and I believe are gentler people because of them.

Truly, through my experience every boy needs a dog to love.

image image image

Sort:  

Free gift from your First Follower!

Just right click the image and select "copy image address"
Then, you can past that address at the end of your posts and have a great signature, if you want.

Welcome to Steemit, and STEEM ON @susie600!

How'd you do dat?

Do what?
Raise the rep?
I like it better than raising the roof.

I meant the "Follow" thing.

The LOGO I made and gave her?

Here's one for you if you want.

postimage

And a little one too.

Is that what you meant?

Copy and paste them if you want them.

Welcome @susie600!

I can see from your reputation of 25, that you are quite new, and haven't been upvoted much.
Since you have 7 posts already, I think that I can help raise your reputation quick.

Let's see!

Now you're a 30 and you have your own LOGO!
Happy Day!

Ok, I was able to bump you up to a 29.
That doesn't look quite as bad.
Also, I am now your first follower!

Congratulations!

People who don't have pets are less than human.

Congratulations @susie600! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @susie600! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60736.77
ETH 2370.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63