Man's Best Friend Or More To The Point My Bestfriend

in #dog8 years ago (edited)

So.. you might be wondering why I've decided to write this entry about man's best friend and more specifically use a photo of the majestic beast you see in this photo. This ladies and gents, is Domino. He is quite literally the love of my life. He is my best friend and partner in crime. Now in my first entry where I introduced myself there was an individual who welcomed me to the community and while I thank you for such a lovely and warm welcoming your name has brought me to tears. You see my beast, my best friend past away this time last year. Losing him was probably one of, if not currently the most, painful experience I have ever had to go through.  still remember my dad bringing him home on my 8th birthday. He was one of the youngest pups in a litter of 16 if I'm not mistaken. When my dad had gotten to the shelter the caretaker told him he could step inside to see which of the pups my dad wanted to meet. But instead my dad just whistled and out of the 16 Domino was the one who waddled over. I still remember how happy I was to see that little pup. And how I cried tears of joy and he timidly licked my tears away. He continued doing that well through my teenage years. No matter what.. this guy was always there for me. You see ladies and gents you get a lot of people saying their dog is the best and blabbity bla bla.. but I can honestly say there has never been a more gentle.. a more loving creature than Domino. His gentleness was so.. evident that even if something hurt him he wouldn't attack it.. or growl.. or snarl.. he'd simply nibble it as gently as he possibly could and whimper to show us that he was in distress. Where as most other dogs would probably jump the gun and lash out at anything that hurt them. He simply was not capable of aggression. He was the most purest depiction of unconditional love that I have ever experienced in my 22 years of life. To further drive this point home of how loving my pooch was.. he had a heart shaped spot on his left shoulder <3

You can just about make out the spot on his shoulder. The other pooch in this photo was Domino's mate Dotty who we had gotten after her original owner passed away and to prevent her from having to go to a shelter we took her in. And they were the best of mates and loved each other to pieces. They argued and fought like crazy but if anything happened to one of them they would be incredibly depressed and not want to leave the others side until they are back to normal.  

Like I said they adored each other. But I always knew that no matter who or what was around Domino always loved me more than anything else. Whether it be Dotty, my parents, food, toys you name it and I'd still out rank it in his heart. In fact his favorite place to sit or lay down was always my lap and if anyone ever yelled at me he'd be at my side in a heart beat. He always had this odd little habit of resting on me as you see in the picture below.. that and the fact that he'd rest his entire face in the palm of my hand.. used to call him slug face for that.

That spot I was on about is more evident in the photo below

The little turd you see with Dotty and Domino.. that's Watson. He's another adorable nuisance. And this photo depicts all 3 of them having just been washed and getting a treat for being good for a change. That's another thing. Domino DESPISED water. To drink was perfectly fine. But anything else. No. Rain? No. Bath time? No. Washing around the house? No. He was so annoyed by this substance that if his toys where about and we'd be cleaning up he'd run around frantically trying to pick them up and take them away from it. And every time I'd wash him he'd spend at least 10 minutes looking at me as if I have betrayed him in some way. 

Dotty was the first to pass away. Some idiot from next door had thrown a sponge onto our roof where these guys used to like to play and Dotty had eaten it and choked to death. Domino was absolutely heart broken and howled for months. He was so heartbroken that he would have to climb into bed with me and I'd have to lull. him to sleep. One day I woke up and did find him sleeping next to me. As I searched around the house I figured he'd gone upstairs to play. Once I got up there I saw him laying on the floor. Thinking he'd lied down to snooze.. I tried calling out to him. When he didn't respond that's when I just.. knew. Domino lived to be 13 years old. And I'm pretty sure he'd died of a broken heart because of what happened to Dotty. Even just writing all of this.. is bringing me to tears. But there is a reason behind the story. And that is. If there is someone in your life.. that means the world to you. Let them know it. Each and everyday. Don't worry that you might seem annoying, show them how much you love them. Treat them like today was your last day of seeing them. Let them know they are loved. I know I would give anything just to have 5 more minutes with Domino. And I would give anything to know that when I inevitably die that I will see him again. So make every moment count with those you love. 

So.. I hope you enjoy the pictures of my beast. I will stop my rambling here. Stay classy you guys.

Sleep well my gentle giant. You were, are and always will be my number 1. You're  on my heart just like a tattoo and i will always love you. Until I see you again.. you and Dotty just wait for me <3 

Sort:  

An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a friend who was conducting a little homework on this. And he in fact ordered me dinner because I found it for him... lol. So let me reword this.... Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending time to discuss this issue here on your steem profile

Great Pictures. Nothing beats having dogs. I have 4 yorkies and one of them is sick. Reading your post added a smile to my face.
https://steemd.com/@cloh76/worried-about-kaycee-for-other-who-have-or-may-have-had-the-same-experience

I'm glad I managed to put a smile on your face.. I miss them both so much.. but having lost Domino was beyond gut wrenching

Congratulations @rogue! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 4.1 and reading ease of 90%. This puts the writing level on par with Ernest Hemingway and Donald Trump.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40