2 years ago I adopted my dog!

in #dog6 years ago

Hello friends! Today I am going to tell the story of when I adopted my tripod dog Sparky.
FB_IMG_1535480628155.jpg
My husband and I had just put my childhood cat down due to cancer. We wanted to wait for at least a few months after his death to get a dog. Almost exactly a month after putting my cat down we were shopping at a bookstore in Sugarhouse, Salt Lake City. This bookstore is located next to a Best Friends Animal Society, which is a shelter associated with the Humane Society. I told my husband that we could go take a peak in Best Friends to help start moving on.
Inside this tiny establishment there are about 8 different cages for dogs, and a room full of cats. My husband and I were immediately drawn to a cage that had the sweetest looking pit bull I had ever seen. He was tan and white, was one of the only dogs not barking, and had this look in his eyes that showd that he needed to be loved. Then we noticed he was missing his right front leg! We asked the workers there if could meet him. They took us into the room that is pictured above so that we could pet him and see how he was. We immediately fell in love. I mean, how could you not? Look at this face!
20160819_162722.jpg
After only knowing this dog that they had named Tennessee for 10 minutes, we asked for the adoption papers.
This was the best, most spontaneous decision we had made as a couple. I think that we all fell in love with each other! FB_IMG_1535484630059.jpg
We signed the papers and took him to our car, which he jumped into, so excited to have his forever family!
He had his arm amputated in march of 2016 and we adopted him on july 24th 2016. Animal control was called on his previous family because he had a festering wound on his arm that they were not taking care of. He was chained in their backyard for the first 5 years of his life. He was severley neglected. He needed love, and Cody and I have all the love in the world to give him!
Now Sparky is so comfortable and spoiled and he will spend the rest of his life knowing that he is loved. 💗20180821_183024.jpg

Sort:  

What a cute face this pitbull's got, so sad he lost a leg due to not being looked after but happy he as a loving home wish more would adopt as many need loving homes

He is so handsome 😁

In Old England, the word "hound" was used to refer to all types of dogs.

Gorgeous dog. Congrats on the addition to your family.

And my condolences on the loss... that's never easy.

Thank you very much! He has brought so much joy to our lives!

Beautiful thing to do. You probably will say it was a no brainer. :-)

No one wanted him... and it brakes my heart. But also makes me feel so grateful that we got to adopt such a wonderful, strong, and brave puppy.

Love over comes..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43