How to teach Rottweiler to swim

in #dog7 years ago (edited)

My first dog was called Gressy. Rottweiler breeds, beautiful "girl" with black "plush" wool. I understood, that she afraids of water, when we first time went with her to the lake. When i swam, she just were running acros the whole coast. She jumped intro the water sometimes, but not really deep.

DSC00225_cop.jpg

I decided to lure Gressy intro the water, and swam far from coast. And Gressy, fearing to loose her little owner was decided to get intro the water. But she could not swim....

I understood that when she swam up to me. Gressy stood in the water, furiously rowed with his front paws. Her body was half out of the water. She, however, approached me. All your Rottweiler power she scratches my hands and back. I screamed in pain, dodging this "mammock".

Of the last strength I sailed to the shore. And, finally, the long-awaited miracle ...

My favourite dog calmed down, and near the end of the water started to swim herself.

Two days passed, me and my husband flew to rest in Nice. My hands and back were torn as if I had been beaten with a whip. Holidaymakers on the beach understood that my husband was a "serious" person, and it is better not to touch our Russian family.

From that moment, i did not teached anyone to swim, what about you?

Very neatly Gressy able to eat directly from the hands.

DSC00012.JPG

Sort:  

Thanks for your post, you deserve those upvotes!

Very nice story, thanks for sharing, I could just imagine the fear of poor Greesy when he was going to loose his master.

Thanks @sighmanjestah. It was a brave dog.

Hey buddy. She looks gorgeous.

I have been planning on getting a rottweiler too and have read a lot about this breed! There's just something special about this breed that had caught my attention. Found a few breeders over my place that has a good track record of breeding quality puppies with good temperament.

I have spent some time talking to a few people who actually own this breed and have heard of positive reviews!

However, my mom is pretty worried in me getting one as a pet as she claims that it going to turn up to be pretty aggressive when they grew up.

Told her it all boils down to the way we train them and have also showed her tons of Youtube videos of owners training their Rotties and she's still scared lol

Hi @investor17
Yes, with this breed you need to be careful. You should not train aggression. Only obedience. And you should stop the dog's attempts to place himself above the owner and family members. A dog with such training will grow with an amazing character. Kind and obedient.

I have a half breed between a Rottweiler and a French Bulldog and the first time he swam all we did was putting him into the water until it was too deep and his paws started to swim automatically and he had no problems at all...but some dogs just don't like it or are afraid...

For Gressy everything was more complicated. Gressy sailed vertically for about 7 minutes, waist-deep in the water. Only after 7 minutes It swam like an ordinary dog.

Haha must have been funny to watch...but dogs don't need to learn it,they just have to remember it i once read somewhere...and some learn very fast like mine and some need some time...

I think dogs are smarter than humans in this matter. @tim77

Excellent photo and a beautiful dog! Thank you for your post @bereginja-steem. Upvote and follow!

Congratulations @bereginja-steem! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61334.44
ETH 2694.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50