Do you really know sheepdogs?

in #dog5 years ago

It's no secret that I share my life with two border collies and a Welsh Corgi from Pembroke (Pembroke Welsh Corgi). Shepherd dogs occupy a special place in my heart. I find they are wonderful companions! They are intelligent, sensitive, active and always on the move. I have a Shiba Inu and I already had a Husky, but the shepherd dogs are, in my opinion, the most exceptional. They are perfect for my lifestyle! Also, was I thrilled when asked to write an article about them!

Shepherd dogs
Shepherd dogs have been developed over the centuries and millennia to help cattle ranchers drive and keep their herds across the plains. Their job was to guide animals, mostly cows and sheep, into the pastures and to assist their humans in all tasks related to care and maintenance.

Sheepdogs are known to be energetic, hardworking, hardy, affectionate and smart dogs.

What is a sheepdog?

In all sizes and colors, sheepdogs have many specializations depending on the climate in which they were developed and the type of livestock they work with.

Among the breeds of shepherds, the most common are found:

The Border Collie (the best breed on the planet 😉)
The Australian Shepherd
The Australian Bouvier
The Belgian Shepherd Malinois
The Pembroke Welsh Corgi (the second best breed on the planet 😉) and his cousin, the Cardigan Welsh Corgi
The Colley
Shetland
The German Shepherd
The Beauceron
And many others!

There are several styles of herd management. The three most common are the gathering, the push and the pastoral.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76