5 Cringeworthy Documentaries (Part 1 of 4)

in #documentary7 years ago

Why Cringe?

Cringe has always existed in human culture. We are constantly seeking to find the strange and different to entertain us. This can be seen in humanities long history of fascination with freak shows and oddities. Freak shows eventually became unacceptable, but humanity found a way. Reality TV is the modern day freak show. Think of Honey Boo Boo, the Kardashians and who can't forget Jersey Shore. All of these shows are just modern day freak shows, and no one will admit it. The internet is blatantly honest though, at least when anonymousness is allowed. 4chan is a seedy underground image forum online, where people can come together and say terrible thing and share terrible pictures. Cringe threads were born on 4chan to make fun of awkward people and shame beta males. This is the internet's new form of freak show.

Why waste the time and effort involved in searching for individual pictures of cringe material? There are plenty of quality documentaries for you to watch. Some are on Netflix, Hulu, Amazon or even free on Youtube. Enjoy and make sure to support the creators of these interesting stories.

The question begs answering; why would I encourage you to watch cringe documentaries? I am overtly interested in learning anything and everything, this has brought me to some weird places on my internet travels. In my travels I found a sick reality. I watched a documentary about a depressing person. Afterwards I felt better about myself, because at least I didn't have their problems. This may sound really wrong, but I searched out more depressing people until I found cringe and fandom based documentaries. There is a common theme to all of these movies. Every person in these documentaries is obsessed with something. They may mistake it for passion. I'm convinced that if this is effecting your life negatively, it is an obsession. I hope every person in these documentaries finds peace and acceptance, but I also thank them for sharing their stories. They have inspired me at one time or another to feel better because my problems and obsessions may pale in comparison to theirs.

Have fun watching the cringe goodness!

Trekies

This is the movie that started it all. If you want to start somewhere about cringe documentaries, this is the place. I love this movie all all of it's retro awkwardness. Star Trek is a great show, and I see why everyone loves it. That doesn't mean it's a good idea to obsess about it to these lengths.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0120370/

86 Minutes

Trekkies 2

I remember when this came out. I thought it was going to suck. I was surprised. This documentary delivers just as much cringe as the original. I hope this is an ongoing thing, where every couple years documentary artists check to make sure Star Trek fans are still crazy as shit.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0364079/?ref_=tt_rec_tt

93 Minutes

Jedi Junkies

Did you like Trekies? You will probably hate this. It's a Star Wars themed rip-off of Trekies. It is cringe from the other side of the Star Trek/Star Wars debate, but horribly produced. Enjoy.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1662514/

73 Minutes

A Brony Tale

This is a documentary more about the voice actor of My little pony than the Male fans that like the show. This girl is really annoying and obviously hates the Bronys. She is afraid of them, and I guess for good reason. This in actuality a horror documentary about being a voice actor to a cartoon series that has a fandom of creepy older men stalkers...

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt3219678/

80 minutes

Bronies: The Extremely Unexpected Adult Fans of My Little Pony

This documentary plays like a propaganda film to recruit people into the Brony lifestyle. If you don't already know, Bronies are the male fans of the popular little girl's cartoon My Little Pony. This documentary is chocked full of awkward men that are obsess about MLP. The film tries to stamp out the assumption that all Bronies are gay and/or pedophiles. The opposite is really gathered from this. All of the Bronies featured are effeminate and down right creepy at times. This movie is a little long, but is very entertaining.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2446192/

90 Minutes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81