the first female working cardiac surgeon in Bangladesh

in #doctor7 years ago

21640795_1900382656894051_983767081147062227_o.jpg

Dr Sabrina Arif Chaudhury
MS (Cardiovascular and thoracic surgery), BSMMU
Registrar, Dept of Cardiac Surgery, NICVD
SSMC 22nd Batch

Among almost 150 cardiac surgeons in the country, being the first female working cardiac surgeon is definitely something to be proud of. Not only in Bangladesh, this number is very low in developing countries as well. When I go to conferences abroad, many look at me with amaze; a female cardiac surgeon, that too, from Bangladesh. I wanted to do something exceptional, and so I chose to come here.
The starting was quite tough for me. During MBBS, I had to study as well as take care of my children simultaneously. I dreamt big from the very beginning. Many asked why I chose cardiac surgery being a female. But I always believed, if a man can do it, why can't I. If one has the will and dedication to work hard, they can become successful in any sector.
When my mother underwent operation in her eyes, I couldn't stay by her side, since I had two other OT ongoing in my unit. Even my mother requested me to perform my duty. Like me, all other doctors and their families have to make so many sacrifices now and then.
It is very painful for a doctor if the patient doesn't get cured by his treatment, let alone seeing his patient die in front of his eyes. The recovery of a patient by his treatment resembles his passion and dedication, which is the marker of his success or failure as a doctor.
When a child with congenital heart defect, whose mortality rate is only 10% even in developed countries, is put on an operation table, the surgeon keeps on praying continuously for a successful operation. Even after a successful operation, when the patient doesn't survive, everyone notices the agony of the patient's relatives, but the drops of tears from the surgeon's eyes always remain unnoticed. Till his last breath, we keep on fighting, and negligence-is that even possible? Can we neglect the ones for whom we neglect our family, friends, relatives and even our children? Yes, we do take salary, but that's not for our hard work, it is the price for our dedication. Just for one day, if you see us working from 7:30 to 4:30 in ward and OT, only then you'll understand.

Sort:  

I wish her more success. Nice post .

Congratulations @sudipto! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sudipto from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67701.44
ETH 3730.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69