MY EXPERIENCE FIXING MY POWER STEERING PUMP

in #do8 years ago

I just want to share my experience on how I just fix my power pump for my car and am not a mechanic: So my power steering pump started to leak about three months ago and after seeking advise from several mechanic I decide to buy a new pump because all the mechanics had to say was "it don't make any sense fixing it better you buy one". After buying the pump and changing it my power steering was not much better, the only thing that was good about changing the pump was that there was no more leak.

About two months later after changing the pump spending $1600 my steering is now hard and giving me problems every time I slow down to take a corner. I decide to have it check this time by another mechanic and found out that the new pump I bought is no good, now am in the position where am advise to buy a next pump so I decide to take matters into my own hands.

The old pump I took off was working great it was just leaking so I open it up change the seal and put it back on my car and now my power steering it good again.

I writing this post for people who might have this same problem or may encounter it in the future to have the pump open up first and have the seal change before going out and buy a new one. Especially if the pump is pushing enough pressure to have your steering working properly. The seal cost me $40 and I did everything myself

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 60799.23
ETH 2640.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58