DnW Poetry Contest #3: Don't waste your sweetness on the desert air, save your love for those who care

in #dnwpoetrycontest7 years ago (edited)

Untitled.png
A painted face and contorted twist
When did a smile become this
It holds no joy rushing from below
A miserable homage, a forced echo

And then I see you, like a coming light
My heart swells with real delight
Smile! They say, and so I do
Though I wish I could save my smiles for you

A smile shouldn't have to be a lie
It should grow from a feeling deep inside
Bursting forth, like tears through a kiss
A feeling of joy, love or bliss

You draw out that feeling inside of me
You find my smile and set it free
So I close my eyes, think of you
And try to make this smile true

First off, apologies for the appalling attempt at drawing, I spent most of my lunch break trying and this is the best I managed, I doubt it even meets the criteria but I did hand sketch the lips in pencil before writing over them, I went with things I see in a smile. Oh well, here to trying. This is my entry to https://steemit.com/dnwpoetrycontest/@deeday31/dnw-poetry-contest-4-new-theme-and-announcement-of-winners - it is my first time giving this one a go because the turn around is really quick but the theme struck me and out came a poem like water struck from the rock.

Sort:  

aww thats a lovely poem calluna thank you

With love,

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist
(My latest artwork is "Government")

Thank you very much! I am glad you enjoyed it :)

And that is some lovely abstract art, I don't always understand abstract art, but seeing the other imagery as well made the difference. I felt the way the seats in parliament from above almost seem resemble the circles of hell was really powerful! :)

awww yeah thats right great understanding caluna! thank you x x x

I like the drawing, it adds a more personal touch than a photo, even though it is amateurish - it's more organic.

Well thank you very much! I nearly didn't enter full stop to avoid having to post one lol, but i feel a bit better about it now! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59209.84
ETH 2659.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43