My D&D experience and dream for it

in #dnd8 years ago

My first encounter, it started back when i was 10yrs old i was grade 5. I am at a computer house (what they call it here back then for a place that let you rent playstation and arcades) watching some players as they play their games. I already spent my money earlier that day playing on a gundam wing arcade. Past lunch-time when more kids come as they get out from school.
A kid came he is Paolo and he's a regular player in the computer house, He greet me and ask if i would like to join on their D&D (dungeons and dragons) game? He said something about killing goblins, orc and ogres and collecting treasures, He's really excited while telling me all this. I did not gave him an answer i was hesitating
because i dont have any money left.
I dont know anything about it so i thought
it was a new game in playstation. I cant afford to play again, i could only play an hour a day with my money and anything left would be for a ride home, So i ignored him and he did not ask me again. He was busy talking to other guys and me watching other kids playing arcade. Later they just started gathering on a table not far away i did not bother to listen or look on what they are doing.
Few days later i got busted by my parents for not going to school and i went to school again and did not learn d&d that time.

Time flies and i am in highschool a sophomore. This is when i learned d&d from a classmate named Bok he also knew Paolo and also a player at that time when i am in grade 5.
He teach me and 3 more guys.
Everyday after school we play d&d 2nd Ed. Bok as our DM(dungeon master) and the four of us as players we had so much fun. We played everyday from 2pm till past 8 in the evening. From then on i loved d&d i could play everyday for free, i could go all out without the limits of arcade and playstation game and i could go as far as my imagination could go.


One day i got a fight with Bok from some childish matter so we stopped
for a while
but that didn't take long without Bok we continued playing even without book of d&d. Boks owned it. So the for of us play with our homebrewed d&d with the rules that we remembers and just vote on those we dont agreed upon.
This setup continues for a year, but getting less and less sessions over time. We discover new games to play and one of it is "Mage Knight" and thru it we met Popoy he plays a lot of games and DM he introduce as to D&D 3rd Ed and 3.5Ed.
We play at his place once to twice a week. From the 5 of us playing more and more players came and we even reach 13 players at one time it was a chaos. But it was fun. We spent years playing d&d from 2nd Ed. to 4th Ed.

Today due to work and other matters we rarely plays, but thats for some of us. DM Popoy still holds D&D sessions every week now with his son UJ and his nephews and sometimes his wife joins.

I am planning on joining them again ill just have to make some time for it and ill be posting our d&d sessions here on steemit

One of my dream is to write a blog about our d&d session and i believe steemit would help me do it.
D&D might be popular on some countries but here in the philippines. Old folks sees it as cult or demonic rituals and a lot more. Thats what want to change i want then to see that this is a game with a lot of fun and imagination and a good way to find some friends.

if you like this post please consider checking one of my latest post here
and @sinx22

Thanks and have a good read

Sort:  

The good old days. I was a great dungeon master because I always played with a big bottle of beer.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 6.1 and reading ease of 87%. This puts the writing level on par with Stephen King and Dan Brown.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57726.29
ETH 2446.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39