Jasper Amaranth

in #dnd6 years ago

Player: Jonathan
Character Name: Jasper Amaranth
Age:25
Size: 5'8"
Alignment: NE
Race: Human
Speed:30
Languages: Common, Undercommon
Class: Monk-Shadow assassin
Back Ground: Criminal-Hired Killer
Ideal: I take what I want with the skills I excel in
Bond: I stand with whoever,whatever, can make me stronger
Flaw: TBD

Back Story:

This is a defining moment of Jasper's life. One that sets his course for murder, villainy, and adventure.

He died in the afternoon. Heavy rain clouds and distant thunder threatened rain above a bustling yet rural. Somewhere just on the edge of civilization. A small crowd has gathered in front of a small broken house that was home to a small broken family.

"I'm sorry Dran", Shepp said." But Jasper has to come with us now." Shepp was holding me behind him keeping all 13 years of me away from my so-called father. The other townsfolk were supposed to be there making sure Dran didn’t do anything foolish but mostly, it was for the entertainment. This village was miles and months away from any kind of diversion.
"That! Is MY son!" Dran managed to only half slur. "And you don’ have any right to 'im, Shepp!"
Shepp looks down to me through the overcast gloom and certainty hardens his features. My father would always tell me of how my mother saved me and how I'll always need to be saved. How I'll always be weak and worthless. Seems like he was right.
"No, and neither do you. Look at these bruises! Look at what you're doing to him!" he says pointing at my freshly bloodied nose from this morning and then I wince as he pulls up the front of my shirt. Bruises upon bruises paint my bony ribs with purples and yellows.
Dran throws a hand dismissively towards me." Thats just desserts for being the blighted cur he 'is". He levels a dangerous glare towards me" He killed his mother, took her from me. An' worse is he won take responsibility. Man up to it!
The tears welling up are too heavy for me to meet his gaze and the broiling rage in my stomach engulfs any words. Years of this. As soon as I was old enough to ask questions its been like this. Everyday has been a constant reminder of my past weakness I could do nothing about. Seeking some kind of comfort my hand fingers the small dagger on my hip.
Shepp lets go of me and steps forward angrily " His only crime was being born to a drunkard bastard of a father like you! He's the same now as he was then a weak, defenseless child who-"
"I'll show you how weak I am!" The scream rips out of me and the dagger flies from my belt and through the air, piercing the falling rain, and the dead center of Dran's skull. Lighting flashes and his body breaks with the thunder.

I fell to my knees and wept. Everyone in the crowd was thunderstruck. This weeping mess of a child had just murdered his father in cold blood. The heavy rain drove away the fair weather parts of the assembled mob, some shaking their heads in disgust. Eventually I was all alone in front of my broken house that was home to no one but me now.
After some time a polite AHEM sounded behind me. There was a black hooded man with white hair and green eyes peering down at me.
"Hello, young man. My name is Lucan. Are you Jasper?" he asked with a strangely charming grin. I nodded sullenly.
"I heard the others talking about chaining you up for killing your father. Now why would you do a thing like that?" he asked. "He kept hurting me and lying to me that I killed mother", I half cried at Lucan. "Thats all? That doesn’t seem like a very good reason to hurt, let alone kill someone" he chided.
"What would you know about it?! He was a drunkard, child beating bastard who deserved to DIE!" I was on my feet screaming at those emerald eyes. Lucan smiled bright and wide " Now THATS a good reason, my boy!", he exclaimed. "Say, what if instead of being chained up and given over to the constable for dispensing justice how would you like to come with me instead?"

" Where?" I asked while rubbing hot tears from my eyes. "I'm taking you to meet other children just like you!", beamed Lucan. " Then you can have a bunch of new friends!"
I eyed Lucan incredulously because the time with my father taught me that adults were less than trustworthy. And then I looked around me. There was nothing for me here except death and imprisonment followed by possibly more death. This was my only option. "Okay, lets go.", I said sullenly. "Good boy! This way" he said as he grabbed my hand and led me into the shadow of the wild forest.

Eventually I discovered that Lucan is actually an elf and the leader of a monastic order of monks dedicated to the ways of stealth and shadow. His sect was responsible for many high-profile assassinations throughout the history of the realms and that he personally scouted me because of my lineage. Mostly my mother's side. He told me the dagger throw that killed my father proved his suspicions about my heritage which meant I had great potential as an assassin. And so I trained for years to master The Way of Shadows.

One day Master Lucan summoned me to the main hall. I was expecting to be questioned about the Way and what strikes would kill instantly, but when I breached the doors Lucan was smiling. The same way the day we met. I bow and give a solemn ,"Master".
"Jasper my dear boy! Thank you for coming!" Immediately I’m suspicious that this was a test or he was about to give me one. "My pleasure master. How can I help you?", I say with a relaxed smile. "Well, actually its not how you can help me but how I'm going to help you! Its time for you to take contracts on your own." Lucan beamed at me. " Wonderful news master. Who is the target?" I say with a genuine smile. "Well thats the thing. See, there aren't any jobs I think you can handle yet.", he says.
"So I'll just.....freelance?"
"Bingo!" Lucan exclaims. " So go out there and kill some people. Then come back when you feel you're ready for serious work." "Yes master Lucan", I say bowing.
The next day I follow the familiar trails towards my very first training grounds and the place I made my second kill.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43