You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tips on how to be a better DM-prep

in #dnd6 years ago

I have one of these, too. I even made a small picture series of my setup. You don't have to buy minis either. Just print them, using some graphic on the internet :-D
To be honest I though you were already using a re-usable map. Designing them in gimp/photoshop/mspaint/whatever every time and printing them, or drawing them on big graph-paper is a huge waste of time imo.

Maps don't have be be pretty at all - don't overdo it.
I remember some of my DnD maps very fondly. The fighting arena my players made some money it – it was a glorious 8 inch circle, with two entrances top, and bottom.
Roll20 basically is one of these maps, btw. I recorded a time lapse creating some of my Shadowrun maps. Simple maps like these are WAY more than enough.

Sort:  

Oh! that is a simple setup! My original plan was to cut out hexagon cardboards and then glue on printed out graphics to create different tiles of grass, dirt, water, etc.

After that i can piece them together for a DND map, and change the terrian as we like by shifting it around or put a few extra layers to create altitude.

I'm also thinking about crafting a dice tower as well, i really like to make things but im currently working 2 jobs so it's really hard to find time to craft and make stuff that takes a lot of time.

(For once) DnD requires you to do none of that.
If you don't have the time to have fun doing it: Don't do it.

The whole cardboard hexagons, map, thing seems really overkill to me though. If you want to build some acceptable sized landscape you're going to need loads of them.
I was never a big fan of things like Dwarven Forge, too. It's just too much hassle to set up, etc.

Though I don't like preparing anything anymore, since I stopped GMing DnD. Players will ruin your preparation, and go somewhere you completely did not expect, as the OP already mentioned.

But... I have fun doing it? I like making things. And i think having the hexagon maps would be super cool. But i will agree with you on the fact that it'll be a pain in the ass to setup the game if i wanted to prepare the landscape and map. Just for the record this is what i want to do for myself.

My friends will probably do some premade map or make something on roll20 and print out, or one of the resources you linked.

Players ALWAYS ruin your preparations. So i can understand why you feel that way. Ive lost count how many stories i read online where DMs die a little inside because of the stuff their players do is always outside of their expectations.

I should have emphasized:

If you don't have the time to have fun doing it: Don't do it.

If you do it, when you have the time for it: Sure.

Players ALWAYS ruin your preparations. So i can understand why you feel that way. Ive lost count how many stories i read online where DMs die a little inside because of the stuff their players do is always outside of their expectations.

pssst Secret hint to all of these DMs:
Embrace the players going of to their own adventures, and see where it leads them to.
It's better for the players, because they can go and do what they want.
And it's better for the GM, because they're not wasting their time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42