About Personalized License Plates I Got - Continued from last post:

in #dmv5 years ago (edited)

header_197s2.jpg

I didn't explain anything about the car the personalized license plate was for.
First the type of car is an ex-copcar. 2003 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor to be exact. I bought it in late July 2019 for $1600 from a thrift store that sells donated vehicles and they fix them up and get the smog check done. I had to pay DMV fees before I could take it off the thrift store parking lot.
Now to explain why I bought that car. I had found one on facebook marketplace for $400 that ran. It was a 2004 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor. It would not pass a smog check because there was to many things wrong with the engine. The person selling it told be before I bought it. I thought I might be able to fix things on it but found out there were to many things and it would take to much time and money. I already knew about the one at the thrift store when I bought the 2004 for $400 so when I got done talking to the guy at the smog check place I went and got the 2003 from the thrift store.

Anyway, about the plates. My mom and I play license plate poker while we are out going to stores or whatever. For anyone that doesn't know what that is, you just look for plates with a pair or two pair, three of a kind (of the same number), four of a kind, etc. and the highest hand or plate wins. So I tried to get five ones which the DMV site wouldn't let me have. Then I tried O11111O - the letter O on each side of the ones, there is no zero on the choices of characters for the California license plate. The DMV site wouldn't let that one go through either. Then I tried other things including BACK UP, BACKUP, BACKOFF and nothing was working. I finally put in BLEEP as a joke which was taken, and then I put in BLEEEEP and it let me have that.

I kinda like it and I had picked the retro black plate with gold (yellow) characters on it.

Now I'd like to explain about buying that type of car. I don't want to act like a cop, and I'm not trying to pull anyone over or anything like that. I like the power, heavy duty suspension, larger radiator, etc. that comes in the police interceptor cars. I have always liked fords even if they need repaired often. I have only been able to buy used cars and usually older cars. I was really looking for something that was old enough that I wouldn't have to do a smog check at all. Anything that is 1975 or older does not need the smog every two years in California. I couldn't find any 1975 or older that I liked in my price range. Turns out it's a good thing I didn't get one of the vehicles that was over $2000 because of the rules I have on social security. I'm only allowed two vehicles at a time and my total "cash on hand" can't be over $2000. I didn't realize they were going to add everything up when I went to report buying a vehicle. They did not cut me off but I'm sure they would like to even tho I only get $674.72 per month. I'm glad to get that even if it wouldn't pay for all the bills if I wasn't sharing rent, pg&e and the utilities with my mom.

1631_25.jpg
footer_197s2.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @busylion! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49