Sort:  

Belief that it is ethical and effective.

Um... It's only as ethical as people working with it, and only as effective it's framework set up by people allowes it to be.
You know. It's just like how a business can be poorly run and not recycle, and another business can be run efficently and engage in recycling practices.
Totally dependant on the people working in the structures.
Then, is belief that a government can be acting in an ethical and effective way is the same as belief that it is doing exactly that?
I would say those two are quite different.
Yeah, I agree with you. I don't believe "my" govenment to be ethical and effective. I believe it could, though.
Cheers.

It depends on the exact definition of "government" you're using. The case is that, government is a system based on violence and the threat of violence - not for self-defence, but for attempting to solve problems for which people could find peaceful solutions. Perhaps you have a different idea of government. Consider this, is it preferable to have a government which doesn't threaten people to fund itself?

"Attempting to solve problems for which people could find peaceful solutions."

That's not true in reality. In reality, government is just a mafia of an elite few who thieve and murder under the guise of "authority."

They don't find peaceful solutions. Government creates the violence where there was peace.

I agree, and that was my point. I'm sorry if I wasn't clear. If you look at my comment in the context of the comment I was replying to, I think what I was saying will be clearer. Hope you're well @thepholosopher

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47