You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Like getting snacks for lunch, baby! ( ´-ω・)︻┻┳══━一 #gunrights #gunfreedom #2a

in #dmania6 years ago

Honest question, and I ask as strong proponent of liberty and the right to bear arms, from your perspective, do you think there is ever a time a group of individuals should force another individual not to have a weapon?

For example, this vending machine, I know it represents removing state restrictions and interference, but what about issues of legitimately evil or insane people who wish to commit harm?

I recognize inherent dangers of allowing the state to make the decision, which is why I'm curious to know a libertarian response.

Sort:  

I identify myself as a classical liberal. If my answer please you here it is: we cannot force anything to anyone! A person can only be judged by his/her actions. If this one kills an unarmed person then and only then a trial can be done. On the other hand I would like to see this crazy one threatening an armed population...

There is no need to force someone to not have a weapon. There are those who commit violations against others and those who do not.

Anyone making an attempt on the life or property of another should be judged based on an imminent threat of action, not just words alone.

The market for robust defense preventing such harms and the increase in abundance for all through a freed market will significantly reduce this kind of problem.

If I don't trust you with a gun, I don't trust you without one, either. The solution isn't to try to prevent you from having a gun, it is to make sure all of your potential targets are sufficiently armed to deal with you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58363.73
ETH 2484.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39