You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel with me #110 : Kuala Lumpur by day and by night!

in #dlive6 years ago

Hey Sweet Ssssssssj!

Been a while since I caught one of your post fresh hot off the steemit press. You really go above and beyond with your travel post, total inspiration every time I see them.

It's been some years now since I was in KL. And to see that Mosque, brought back some very scary memories. I was out in front of that exact Mosque in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Tall white American. The service ended and thousands and thousands of young muslim men came pouring out of it. I've never been surrounded by so many people giving me one dirty look after another and shouting things at me I didn't understand, but were sure not good. In the midst of a panic attic my girlfriend and I at the time had to jump over a guardrail and cross a highway to get out of there. We felt so unsafe and unwelcome it was down right frightening.

Seeing you all covered up like I don't know....your sweetness certainly does not shine through like it does in your normal attire. But so glad you had a better experience that I did.

Overall KL is a great city, a diverse city, and I really had a great time there as well.

I'm still plugging away on my blog. Any advice or constructive criticism is always welcome from the one and only Sweeeeeeeetsssj.

I just finished a six month adventure from Ecuador to Patagonia. Now visiting Family in New York, before I likely head out to Europe, or maybe the Carolina's here in the US for a bit first. We'll see.

Where is your next destination?

Hope you are well. -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Sort:  

Hi Dan! So lovely to see you alive and well as always! I'm surprised to hear about your experiences at the Mosque but I guess we experienced it at different times of day, perhaps it was a little bit unlucky on your part to face the thousands of people coming out at the end of the service, but even still, I'm surprised they made you feel judged as I felt anything but welcome there, maybe it's because i'm not a tall, white or american?

I did experience on thing there which was slightly strange which was going down to the labelled toilets, only to be told I wasn't allowed to use that one, even though I saw other people walking straight down. Felt a little bit discriminated at that point, but that was the worse of it.

At first I was a little uncomfortable with the cape, I felt a little bit silly as it's so far from what I usually wear, but I figured that I have to respect the etiquette.

I'll definitely drop by your blog soon and have a good gander, it's been a while since i've had a chance to just enjoy blogs and I know that yours will be top top quality!

I'm actually going to be exploring Europe for the next few months but I haven't decided exactly where yet, probably a bit all around!

Thanks Ssssssj the sweet! Interesting to hear about how you made out at the mosque as well. Hey if our paths cross in Europe......you never know ;)

Thanks in advance for taking a peak into my blog. Way different style then most travel blogs. These days I've gone mostly video and give commentary with my vast 11 years of travel knowledge, I'm thinking the first thing you will think is I've got to get one of those camera stabelizer things like you have. I believe a popular one is called the zhiwun smooth q. I Plan on buying one this week. Just never in a million years thought I'd be the guy walking around with something like that in my hand.

Anyway. Have a great day and I'm so appreciative you took the time out of your busy schedule to leave me such a nice reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23