You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Daily Owl, Ep. 10: No, Voting Is Not "Violence," But It Is Usually Pretty Damn Despicable

in #dlive6 years ago

The same principle I would uphold in general. The voters are in fact
"shareholders" of the state and are to some degree responsible for state violence. So I will conclude that voting=violence.

Then how to deal with violence is another question. A defensive reaction has to be proportional and suitable to stop the violence. Killing a voter is neither proportional nor suitable as a method of self-defence. Blockading voting stands should there be enough people willing to do that might be proportional and efficient.

I won't vote, for I believe that it would be a violent act for me to do so. So I agree with the voting is violence. But ONLY for myself. I try to get more people to see it this way for themselves but they can only voluntarily choose to do so......I think.

I'd like to add that I believe it's a philosophical war (imHo) that questioning the voters or go into conversation with them ( in the Kal Molinet/ candles in the dark and other ways)might have better results than just blocking them.

To say it in another way. I believe with standing for the cults building and blocking their way,( without further conversation) the cult members won't give up their faith they might even become more fundamentalist, since most cult's warn their members for that their surroundings (family friends and others) may protest and that that is a sign that the cult, or the cult member is right, or on the right path.

I realize this is only about the "how to do it" and in no way I want to stop you from potentially blocking voters. For it might work just fine for getting people out of that hideous cult.

Peace :)

Sort:  

I actually do not intend to block any voters, I was only searching for a type of violence that might be justified to protect against voters in self-defence.

I completely agree with you that the better solution would be a shift in culture by helping people question the nature of governance. This is also a completely non-violent approach and therefore does not require any justification.

Yeah I got that out of your reply..I used your reply a bit to elaborate on methods, I knew I drifted a bit off ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55049.50
ETH 2307.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30