Unschooling Drums: No "Lessons" Necessary, Just An Open Space To Jam!

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

I posted a video a couple days ago about my son’s most recent drum lesson, and how it was a bit of a let down.

Well, it looks like karma, or the universe, or whatever it is was watching out for us. We went to a friend's rehearsal studio today to hang out and work on some songs. The kids immediately took to the instruments—especially the drums—and began jamming out, and dancing all around the room.

I watched my son intently as he pounded away at the drums. Same as when he was still just a toddler. He has rhythm. His noise had patterns to it. And most importantly, fun. He’s got the spirit, and that’s all really matters. The rest is just finding out different ways to channel and shape that energy. In other words, technique.

C82613E7-41F5-4F0F-9CD9-27ED7744C9C9.jpeg

A space like this is exactly the kind of thing...exactly the kind of place...where “learning” actually happens. Why? It’s real. It’s fun. It’s relaxed. The kids can jam. They can run around and watch while mom and dad and "the adults" jam out and see what it looks like when people play the same song together, putting all the different instruments into play in their unique ways, making cool, cohesive sounds.

Of course lessons are great, too. I loved my guitar teacher as a child. I loved being in the room with him, one-on-one, and jamming. But the reason I loved it was because I already loved guitar, and was already spending hours in my room writing simple three note songs and trying to figure shit out. In other words, I was already having fun. I wanted the knowledge and skills my teacher had so I could use them for myself. No one had to force me to be interested. That’s the difference.

Just wanted to give this little update. Life is fun. Music is fun. This kind of place is a perfect example of how freedom is always the best, and how learning is play.

~@kafkanarchy84

My video is at DLive




Support Voluntary Japan!
BCH: qqvmdr3l0dlmjqdekkzgsdeg8hq2s9zt5ud3h004r7

BTC: 1MfENEp9tkJMHmrrj5rPKzohYNCw9S6qFw

ETH: 0x9199c3844fd8d3642b39175414c8ffcd403c7aaf

DSH: XpqAkZqHnE12pN9oKapd1Vmj91HSeb93K1

QTUM: 0x9199c3844fd8d3642b39175414c8ffcd403c7aaf

Sort:  

Maaaan he's SO into it!

so cool! you'll make a band when the son will be a little older;))

by the way, he is a so sweety boy!;)
and he looks much like you;)
a nice mix of nations - he's very pretty;)

My experience, from homeschooling with my daughter, was that children will teach themselves. They do a good job in learning a language in a couple of years. 😎

My role was to provide resources and encouragement; something you seem to be doing in spades. ✌💛

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58097.21
ETH 2581.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41