What Holds You Back From Going Vegan?

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Drop a comment down below what holds you back from becoming vegan?

Hello Steem blockchain. My name is Brett aka Fruit Daddy. I'm an animal rights activist and a cryptocurrency entrepreneur based in the USA. If my content inspired you, please reach out to me.

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Honestly ? I dont defined the real reason yet.
I am vegetarian since 3,5 years now and I would say that habituation holds me back from becoming vegan.

I eat vegan really often (When I cook by myself it is 100% vegan) but sometimes I buy a bun with cheese or a yogurt. Sometimes I eat cake with eggs and/or milk in it. This kind of stuff.

But 95% I am eating vegan and find it would be not so hard to switch fully to vegan.
But yeah the time will come. Eventually tomorrow... I feel rly not good with my previous two sentences.. 100% procrastination.

But it is much better to be 95% vegan than 0% so that is my apology for today

@tibfox you are very advanced where you are now, and love yourself for where you are on your own journey. I have many large flaws myself, and I lived in an ignorant bliss the first 23 years of my life eating animal products, so I have compassion for everyone exactly where they are on their journey.

These two videos really helped me understand the egg and dairy industries.

Eggs:


Milk:

Thanks man ! I am and I will watch the videos asap :) thanks for your input and effort in the next of our lovely animal friends ! Peace

Posted using Partiko Android

In my opinion veganism isn't good for my health. I can't get enough vitamins if I was vegan.

What vitamins in meat and dairy are you talking about? And what makes you think your body is unique and requires these 'vitamins' that millions of other people don't need.

Vitamin D3, B12, DHA

Solar energy is a great source for vitamin D3
Soil is a great source of vitamin B12
Many seeds are a great source of DHA

There is nothing required by our bodies that is proprietary to the eating of animal carcasses.

Our bodies were not designed for that diet either- FB_IMG_1500009019680.jpg

Your opinion, my opinion!

@alan369 I am not a medical professional but from my observations after years of seeing people fall off a vegan diet, it is from lack of calories, not nutritional requirements. Usually a person will get so undercarbed eating 250 calorie salads that they end up at KFC.

Do you really believe that pointing out sources of vitamins is an opinion? Or do you just tell yourself that to make you feel better about what you eat?

I don't wanna argue with you

Ribs, pulled pork and brisket have been holding me back. Living in the south they're a staple to our diet. From my experience, no amount of seasoning or marinating can make leafy foods, nuts or granola taste as good as ribs, pulled pork or brisket.

You'll just feel better off this high animal fat stuff after a while if you make the plunge. Good luck.

@wizardofcheeze just because the culture you are in has animal products as a staple of their diet, does not mean this is safe for you, or the environment to for you to consume alongside them. I encourage you to keep trying vegan alternatives to those ribs, pulled pork and brisket. I truly believe that for any animal product an equivalent can be made out of plants.

I just ate at this bomb vegan soul food restaurant a few weeks ago

From my experience no amount of clogged arteries, obesity, parasites living inside me, or other diseases related to eating those foods will make taste as important as feeling healthy all day long.
I've tried both ways and can say walking around at 7% body fat with high strength, energy, and mental clarity is much better than the taste of the seasonings on meat.
I'm guessing you haven't tried both, since one way is obviously a way better experience for anyone who does.

I consider myself vegan. I am sometimes what I call a "don't ask" vegen though. At times I'll not ask questions like if the bun on a vegetable sandwich has egg, if it looks like it probably doesn't and it also looks like the most healthy choice easily available, I just don't ask. Overall though for me the most difficult aspect was the social aspect of eating with friends. I've made it work, but it is always a topic of discussion. Sometimes I just want a social event to be about the event, not about my personal eating choices.

That event will probably never happen, we all have friends that find it impossible to resist telling a restaurant server that their friend is vegan.

Nice to meet more vegans on steem blockchain, my wife @steemitbaby always cares about Veganism. ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67701.44
ETH 3730.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69