Hudsucker Blog 18 - Coding A DiscordJS Fortnite Stats Bot

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Welcome to another Hudsucker Blog. Today I'll be coding a Disord Bot in Javascript, with the help of Ned(not Steemit Ned), from The Source Code, a Youtube Channel and Discord server that's all about helping noobs like myself dive into JS and get their bots up and running.

I'll be following Ned's tutorial of the FortniteTracker Stats Bot, for today's stream. The tutorial is only about 10 minutes or so long, but I'll be pausing plenty during the stream trying my best to keep up, so expect it to take at least 30 minutes to an hour for me to have everything up and running. Also, Ned had to make some changes to this tutorial, so now all the info needed for a working Fortnite stats bot is split into 3 separate videos, yikes!

If I manage to get the Fortnite portion done quick enough, I plan to jump on another discord bot task: roles and perms. I want to make it so that our bot automatically switches a person's role when they are playing a game. It's been no dice in the past(using Evie Codes), and I'm not sure if all the info isn't in the tutorial or if I'm just that bad at JS. Whatever the case, I'm giving it another go today...if there's time.

What To Expect From Today's Stream


These Hudsucker blogs are truly just me learning my way through coding and dev related projects. That being the case, I wont be speaking verbally to the screen, as you'd see in a typical stream. I'll simply be learning, pausing, rewinding, and taking short little breaks when my brain gets racked.


Notable Code ...Notes


This section will be updated live, with any notes that I think would be particularly helpful.

HTML Notes--
1--
2--
3--
4--
5--
6--
7--
JS Notes--
1--
2--
3--
4--
5--
6--
7--

Thanks for tuning in.

My live stream is at DLive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95