Bye Bye DLive: your move hurts, but we'll be fine

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Bye Bye DLive: your move hurts, but we'll be fine


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

hmm maybe i could now use dlive and finally videos will not show on my blog page, i could just add them to my posts.
maybe now dtube will be better and not "delete" videos after few weeks.

looks like a shitty move from dlive but all those people that supported them could do is grow ears and bray

True. And yes, that's another way to look at it - now you don't have to show all the videos in your feed, lol. I'm hoping the future will bring us interfaces where we can have more control over what we show on our feeds :-)

Hey @soyrosa thanks for the kind words about @vimm I hope you had the time to check out the platform in the meantime. We don't really like the comparison between DLive and Vimm as we consider ourselves a different platform.

The platform was created because we felt like other platform's only promoted consistent content creation, while we feel like it is possible to create a platform that emphasizes on content consumption if you create a format and the tools that support growth and chat activity.

That being said we are of course still in Alpha and there is a long road ahead. We hope that everyone that uses https://www.vimm.tv gives us the time to grow :)

Hey @foreveraverage - thanks for adding some info to my post! I have no experience with streaming/video but I'm curious to hear how @vimm operates - I've already seen quite a few Steemians start using Vimm so the reviews will come soon enough.

I wish you all the luck with developing further, even though you're very different from DLive them leaving means you got a bit more in the spotlight suddenly ;-)

Graag gedaan (en nu terug naar engels ;) ). Well if you have anymore questions or concerns make sure to join our discord channel. You can always ask me, any other member of the team or the community how Vimm works/operates. We try to be as transparent as possible :)

I read a few articles on the topic yesterday, but I really liked how you calmly explained what was happening and put a positive spin on it. Yes, it's not ideal that they're leaving, especially in the manner which they depart, but Steem is still going to be ok and there's no reason to panic. Let's see what HF20 does to make things even better!

Thanks! I read it right before I went to bed, then of course had to read it all, so slept only a short night, and then it didn't leave my mind anymore... Despite a gigantic head ache I decided to write about it and get it out of my system. That's what makes Steem so awesome, there's always an outlet :-)

I'm excited for HF20, after that Hivemind (I hear rumours it might come sooner than we expect, even before SMT's!) and SMT's in Januari/March. We have a lot to look forward to!

I'm sorry you have a headache and didn't get much sleep. Hopefully getting it on the computer and out of your head has released some of the pressure and pain.

Yeah, there's a lot to be excited about regarding Steem's future. We don't have to get down about one small group of people who played us for fools. We'll just do better next time.

That's sweet :-) Thanks for the well-wishing :-)

And yes, exactly. I know many people feel there's a lot of 'bad' going on but I see the 'good' has the bigger numbers :-)

Great post my darling.. Thanks for your kind words, it means a lot!

Just to correct you a bit hihi I am on @vimm two months ago, doing my curation show there and supporting. I believe they have a good thing going on there and the team is more than awesome!

I just feel sad because my fanbase will fall apart and my curation show is only on vimm now. You know I like to support and build communities so this hit me so bad :(

Yet, steem is life and I we are lucky enough to have @vimm here! Dlive helped me a lot on my STEEM journey, but I had long-term goals with them and it hurts to see this.

Anyway, it's another day to support people so I'm not going to miss that :)

Oh man, I missed that! Corrected @whack.science, you're basically one of their early adopters! Maybe you could write a post about your experiences thus far on their platform? Or did I miss that as well? scrolls frantically through Whack's feed

Yes, the whole community aspect is what makes a lot of what we do here so much fun and it's sad to have to break up with a part of your fanbase. I'd hope some of them will stay on Steem as well though and maybe follow you to Vimm.

Enjoy supporting your people today <3

No problems :D I am also curator there so I'm having a great time with @vimm already.. Didn't stream gaming streams that much, but every curation show was also on @vimm!

I didn't write experiences but that's what I'm going to do for sure! <3

YES! This is the time where people start getting interested in @vimm and they (and you) should take that opportunity :-) Curious about your post - good luck writing and plug it here as well when it is finished :-)

It was a planned leave all the time. Just read it it with evidence.

It really really seems like it yes. We'll have to trust in Karma and see what she thinks of this ;-)

Oh, wow. I had no idea any of this was going on. I should probably pay more attention to community news. Thanks for breaking it down for people like me.

You're more than welcome! It's hard to keep up at times and even though I don't often write 'meta steem' posts sometimes I feel like sharing some of the 'news' happening especially for those who otherwise wouldn't read it. You and I read more art/life Steemians and therefore could easily miss some of this stuff.

it stung for sure. but the more time passes i’m kinda glad their gone.

you dont want scavengers like that on steem. it will just bring everyone down in the long run.

the amazing story out of all this is the potential @vimm has. they have over 14k in delegations now and most of that since last nights madness.

projects like that and the support the community gave it knows i’m in the right place with steem. nothing even compares.

a fact dlive sadly missed and like you said. we move on. :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Indeed, the good thing about it is the blockchain is now 'cleaner' thanks to their move. Let's focus on all the good projects with likeminded people that are popping up all over the blockchain and let the rotten apples go where-ever they feel they need to be.

It's amazing they collected quite some delegations since last night - another show of how we can work together as a community and decide our own faiths.

Enjoy livestreaming on @vimm ;-)

yup. it was awesome to watch their discord blow up with encouragement and words of support.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Like they say in Holland "het stinkt"... Jammer, maar inderdaad op naar een ander... Steem is to stay...

Yup, it all smells really really bad...

Congratulations @soyrosa! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @soyrosa!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.193 which ranks you at #2736 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 2739).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 424 contributions, your post is ranked at #123.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63841.10
ETH 3299.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92