You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Voluntaryism Is Not A Sunday School Class: Why pointing out bad actors is a necessary market function.

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

I'm busy writing right now - hey, I'm taking a small break, okay? - so I'll check the video later.

But this seems to be about the very reason why I no longer engage with libertarians or anarchists, even though I still consider myself to be one.

Libertarians only see either or, black or white, up or down. I guess it's because libertarianism attracts those with a severe case of autism. I dunno.

But it's damn near impossible to discuss with some libertarians about a problem with a private corporation, for example.

The discussion never goes anywhere unless the libertarian rule of self-ownership is breached. If not, it's the same thing every time:

"In a free market, a private company has the right to blah blah blah."

Yeah, gee, fuck, I've only been a libertarian for a decade plus, so I'm glad you finally explained the basics. Also, how do you feel about it personally? Not through the libertarian lense alone, but personally.

The point I'm trying to make is that an individual actor can still very well be an asshole, even if he isn't directly attacking someone else's self-ownership. And sometimes I'd like some discussion regarding the nuances of society, instead of the same tired old bullshit about self-ownership that we all have memorized by now.

"I think Comcast has a really shitty customer service."
"In a free market, a company has the right to produce shitty customer service."

Shut the fuck up.

Sort:  

Yep. just got labeled a "Communist" this morning for pointing out that someone who is seeking to control billions and billions of dollars of resources cannot even manage their own personal finances very well.

YOU WANT TO CONTROL THEIR PERSONAL WALLET!?!? COMMUNIST!

Fuck man. Sometimes it seems things would be much better if these lemmings would jump off a bridge.

Oi!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45