Mega Man X6 Masochist Speedrun Part 03: Rainy Turtloid. A Jackass, the Case Study

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Rainy Turtloid is a fucking jackass, but more on that later.

The first challenging segment, and the first actually interesting stage. Rainy Turtloid's stage wastes no time in getting aggravating.

This is the first stage where the Nightmares really become an issue, and it's fairly evident right at the beginning.

Destroying those shield generators, while navigating my way through the Nightmares to avoid getting hit, took some advanced math to work out.

I had advanced math in high school, so in the end, it was all peachy.

I'm complaining about the stage, but I'd like to point out that it was still a very fun challenge, and I enjoyed it.

I had a couple of successful recordings through the stage itself, but this is the one I was happy with because I think I found a nice enough choreography especially for the latter half. I can keep moving almost all times despite avoiding damage, and that's always the goal. So I'm happy with this dance routine here.

Of course, I need to point out that the acid rain deals forced damage that can't be helped. But I still avoid hits from the enemies, so it doesn't ruin the spirit of the challenge.

Not a lot of quick reaction skills at play here. This is the result of rigorous memorization and trial and error.

The thing I'm not happy about, though, is the boss fight. I had better fights against Turtloid, but those recordings have worse runs through the stage, so it's a catch 22.

Turtloid basically starts off the fight by being an asshole, and works his way up from there.

This is far from an optimal fight against this guy.

The problem here is that I had such a good run through the stage that I was nervous. That caused quite a few fuck ups and careless mistakes. None of which lead to me taking damage, but they did stretch the fight out quite significantly.

Under these stipulations, Turtloid is a lot tougher than he may seem.

Xtreme mode causes him to spam that one specific rolling attack where he shoots out his white projectiles, and dodging that attack is damn near pixel perfect.

You have to be at a very specific spot on the wall, at a very specific time, in order to dash kick off of it in time to avoid Turtloid's hitbox. There's very little room for error.

The issue is that I'm so focused on my movement and playing it safe, I miss out on more than a few shots that I could have taken to shorten the fight.

There's always the refight, I guess. But the funny thing about the refight is that Turtloid actually doesn't knock you off the wall there, making the refight significantly easier.

My video is at DLive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77