Introduction to DLive and live-streaming by @ajaxalot

in #dlive6 years ago

This was our third presentation at the Austin Steemit meetup and the one I learned the most about.

I knew very little about DLive and live-streaming in general but @ajaxalot really breaks it down well for us.

Some highlights from this presentation are:

  1. DLive vs. Twitch - DLive currently does not take a cut of your rewards. Twitch takes 50% of the subscription and 40% of donations.

  2. Four main categories on DLive: Games, Music, Learning, and Lifestyle.

  3. What you need to get started:
    Computer
    Internet
    Broadcasting application options - Open Broadcast Studio or StreamLabs

  4. Improving the stream with:
    Microphone
    Camera
    Overlays
    Plugins
    Personality

  5. Console gaming requires an external or internal adapter

You can see a copy of @ajaxalot's live stream here:
https://www.dlive.io/#/video/ajaxalot/2b09dd18-1834-11e8-991c-0242ac110002

Give DLive a shot. I know I will soon.

If you want to chat with @ajaxalot you could find him at The Steem Experience or SteemSpeak on Discord .

I have one more presentation from @steemcafe about the Steem Creators Conference in Las Vegas coming out tomorrow. Stay tuned.

Sort:  

Hey, that's me! 😁
Let me know if you have any questions about the presentation.

Great presentation again. I'll have to try my hand at live streaming soon. Haven't played with it much since meerkat

If you have any questions, I'd be happy to help.

Loading...

please keep filming your meet ups!!!! learning a TON up here in utah!!!!! you guys inspire!!!! thank you!!!

Thanks a lot. Glad to help!

Thanks @ruwan for this nice explainer video of DLive. We're currently discussing recording/streaming options for the Philly Steem Meetup and @hypnopreneur pointed me to this post. Nice to see a that Austin has a thriving Steem community!

Anyways, at the beginning you call DLive a "decentralized streaming platform". Perhaps, I don't understand DLive's architecture, but to me it seems entirely centralized. The source code is not open and the videos / streams are not deposited via an open storage / file transfer protocol. The persistence of DLive recordings and the availability of the service is entirely dependent upon @dlive startup.

So I'm not really sure if streaming via DLive is any different than posting a YouTube livestream link on Steem in terms of centralization. In both cases, the voting is decentralized via Steem, but the actual content (the video) is provided by a centralized service. Correct me if I'm wrong...

Yeah, I learned the most from this presentation too. Very well done! Thank both of yall!

Highly rEsteemed!

I really enjoyed this presentation.
Upvoted

thank you for sharing the post

screw up friends

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57738.58
ETH 3102.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34