Dash Cam: Dumping "Shot Rock" Over Guardrail

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

Dash cams are good for more than insurance claims!
The thumbnail is a picture of the tractor and side dump I'm operating and filming from.
In order for this to work, we have to maneuver 70 ft of truck and trailer 2 to 6 inches from the guardrail. Hauling about 50,000 pounds of "shot rock" per load, each trip takes an hour. Currently, 8 side dumps are working on this project so we moved around 3,200,000 pounds (1,600 tons) of rock today.

My video is at DLive

Check out Dash Cam for more info on this project.

Animated GIF-downsized_large (1).gif

Sort:  

ugh. that reminds me I gotta get my dashcam one day... except I'll keep putting it off. too lazy :p

I always wondered how you side dump drivers do it!

Side dumps are pretty basic. A few things to watch out for, but they sure are fast and easy.

"except I'll keep putting it off. too lazy :p"
Really? I don't think so. I was surprised how easy this dash cam was to start getting video. I have learned from having it, about some features that would have been good to have.
Thanks for stopping by and checking out this post!

I peeked at your blog page, looks like your an over the road trucker. I spend a few nights a year away from home, but motels, no sleeper. I wonder how you guys do it!
What trucking have you been up to lately? Maybe you have a new post to share your travels?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61038.71
ETH 3404.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50