A Delicious American Southern Chicken Diner / 美味的美国南部风味炸鸡

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

To celebrate one of my friend’s birthday this week, I booked a table at a restaurant called Joe’s Southern Kitchen. You probably can guess from the name that the restaurant serves up an authentic deep south dining experience and famous gluten-free fried chicken, offering up delicious food from the state of Nashville, Tennessee and Kentucky. I heard a lot of good things about this place so thought why don’t I give it a try for myself!

Located in the heart of Covent Garden within an enormous converted warehouse, Joe’s Southern Kitchen is essentially a restaurant and cocktail bar. Upon arrival, a vibrant neon sign hung right in the middle of the front window. Once inside, the restaurant looked quite cool with its exposed brickwork and over-sized hanging lights. It also sported a giant "Coca Cola" sign on the wall and pictures of highways and other things associated with those Southern origins.

It was only 7pm on a Thursday night and the restaurant was already buzzling with people, creating a great atmosphere. Due to the reservation, we got shown to our seats straight away. The staff were also quite friendly and helpful.

1.jpg

2.jpg


The place has two floors with a smaller dining area situated upstairs via a spiral staircase.

8.jpg

7.jpg


The downstairs bar plays Southern American music and offers a cocktail list full of original takes on some classic tracks. They probably have one of the largest collections of Bourbon, tequilas and mezcals in London that I have seen. Their are literally hundreds to choose from so if this is your thing, definitely take some time to try a few. I am sure it will be worth your while, lol. Apart from that, there is also a variety of American beers so there is pretty much something for everyone, making sure you enjoy the American experience to its fullest!

3.jpg

5.jpg

8-2.jpg

9.jpg


I was up for trying out their "watermelon cocktail", with my friend opting for a rich vanilla milkshake. Both were extremely delicious!

12.jpg

11.jpg


The menu is classic Southern American cooking, predominantly based around fried chicken along with a great selection of tasty side dishes and starters to spice up your choices of food. Also included is the Southern Fried Chicken, 8 hour slow roasted short ribs and pulled pork bunsSo many choices that I seriously did not know what to order, lol.

Between the four of us, we went for a 36 piece chicken wing appetizer, sectioned into three different flavours. Southern chicken, buffalo and BBQ sticky flavours. A big starter, right? Haha! All of them were astonishingly good, but the southern chicken wings were definitely my favourite. A delicate crispy coating with juicy meat inside. And I am telling you, they are soooo finger licking good!!

21.jpg

21-2.jpg

23.jpg

22.jpg


Joe’s signature dish is beer can chicken, but since we already had the chicken wings, I decided to try out the Mac and cheese. A perfect accompaniment to all the meat! OMG, the Mac n’ Cheese came with a biscuit crust drenched with melted cheese on top. Just looking at it made my mouth water! It was rich, warm and such a comforting treat reminding me of happy days. You just cannot beat a good bowl of Mac n’ Cheese!! Highly recommended.

25.jpg


My friends also tried out the Buffalo Burger and bacon salad and they also enjoyed the food on offer. Due to that big starter, I was not able to finish my main and I was pretty disappointed with myself, lol. Most of us were so full by the end of it but as always @ezzy was the last one standing and ordered the only dessert from the group, haha!

26.jpg

20180406_211828.jpg


@ezzy went for the Cheesecake on a Stick, which is a baked vanilla cheesecake lolly dipped in hazelnut and chocolate. I managed to try one spoonful and it was creamy and heavenly!! What a wonderful finisher to the prior delicious feast!

28.jpg


Joe’s Southern Kitchen is the perfect place to enjoy a great meal with family and friends or just chill after a long day at work. The food was excellent, and probably one of the most authentic American food diners I have ever eaten at in UK. A place you would get your fingers dirty in and your face sticky with barbecue sauce. In a very enjoyable way though, haha!


这周我朋友生日,我们去了一家名叫 Joe's Southern Kitchen 的餐厅吃饭庆祝。顾名思义,大家也许可以从名字猜出这是一家专门吃风靡美国南部的风味炸鸡。我在网上看到不少关于这家店的好评,所以一直都想来看看,呵呵。

这家店位于伦敦中心 Covent Garden 附近。它是一家旧仓库改建的餐厅酒吧。一个巨大的霓虹灯招牌挂在正门窗前,十分醒目!餐厅看起来很酷,裸露砖墙设计,墙上挂了一个硕大的“可口可乐”标志,以及其它与美国南部相关的照片。这里环境宽敞, 共两层。一楼有长长的吧台和大投影,二楼位置不多,稍显拥挤,整个餐厅充斥着热闹的气氛!

虽然只是周四晚上7点多,餐厅已经有人山人海的感觉了。幸亏我们预定了座位,所以不用排队,呵呵。值得一提的是,这里的服务还挺不错。

楼下酒吧播放着轻松愉快的经典美国音乐,吧台上摆满了眼花缭乱的各种酒,其中Bourbon和龙舌兰酒的种类之多,是我在伦敦也很少见的。如果你喜欢品酒的话,可以在这里耗上好几个小时哦,呵呵。除了烈酒,还有不少美式啤酒可供选择,一定有你喜欢的!

我选了他们的西瓜鸡尾酒而我朋友要了一杯浓郁的香草奶昔,两样都非常好喝!

菜单当然是经典的美国南部美食咯,主要以炸鸡为主,还有各种美味的配菜和前点。这么多的选择,我都不知道从何下手,哈哈。

我们点了三种不同口味的鸡翼作为前菜,包括南方风味炸鸡翼,水牛城鸡翼和烧烤鸡翼。四个人分36只鸡翼,我们胃口是不是很大啊,呵呵!样样都好好吃,不过我最爱的还是南方风味炸鸡翼,外酥内嫩的鸡肉口感恰到好处,好吃得简直停不下来!

Joe’s Southern Kitchen的招牌菜是啤酒鸡。但由于我们已经有鸡翼前点,所以主菜我就尝了他们的芝士通心粉。小陶碗盛着满满的通心粉,融化的芝士和碎饼干铺在面上,浓浓的芝士香,看着就忍不住流口水了,入口更是幸福感爆棚!这个非常值得推荐。

我的朋友们点了汉堡和培根沙拉,都挺不错的。可能是之前的鸡翼吃多了,我根本没办法吃完我的通心粉,有点儿可惜哦。 看看身边的朋友都吃得很撑了,一脸满足的样子,呵呵。

最后只有 @ezzy 能吃得下甜点。他要了一份香草味的芝士蛋糕。我尝了一口,超级好吃,比普通的香草味口感更丰富!

Joe’s Southern Kitchen 这家餐厅非常适合与家人和朋友聚餐,又或者是下班以后消遣的好去处。食物味道很好,可能是我在英国吃过最正宗的美国南部风味炸鸡!

Wen-Logo-final.jpg

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

In terms of taste, I believe those chicken wings in China streets are very delicious.

No double about it, I am obsessed with chicken wings, lol.

这间餐厅很有美国南方牛仔的气氛,感觉不错下~

同感,呵呵。

如果我吃这些美国南方吃的,我是不是胖死了?

It seems really superb as i m too a foodie and love creating such stuffs

Reply to this comment if you want me to resteem your last blog post to my 32,500+ followers. Then whenever you make a new blog post that you want me to resteem go to my Comments and reply to any of my comments on other steemians blog posts. Please upvote my comment after I resteem your blog post. @a-0-0

Looks amazing! I now work in the construction industry, but prior to that I worked in the kitchen industry for years. The last restaurant I worked in was a southern comfort food here in VT. That sounds pretty shitty I'm aware, but we had a young ambitious chef from New Orleans who had moved up here to take over the restaurant, hauling his smoker all the way up the coast.

Your post made me miss working there and all the amazing free food I used to get because, judging by the dishes presented in your post, we had a remarkably similar menu. At the time I worked there, I lived in a house with 12 other people, so my favorite part was stacking the pounds and pounds of uneaten ribs and mac & cheese in my backpack for the bike ride home.

Joe's looks amazing. If I ever make it to the area, I'll be sure to visit! :)

Hey @herbertholmes, I am glad we have the same taste in food, haha! If you are ever in this part of London, definitely give it a go. :)

Your Post Have been upvoted by AutoSteem(.)Info !
Signup to get FREE Upvotes !

oh my God
hope i was there
look really delicious

好想吃 Cheese Macaroni喔!倒是沒吃過上面加了碎餅乾,下次可以試試看。

的确很正点哦,有机会试试,呵呵!

Excellent video shoot! The music rhythm is connected.❤️The wings seem to be juicy.😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69406.62
ETH 3942.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61