You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 25 Reasons Steem Will Replace Bitcoin as #1 Cryptocurrency by 2021!

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

I like the idea of only upvoting and not downvoting. Not removing rewards, but there needs to be accountability for those breaking the law. What I mean is theft through stealing accounts via phishing or by plagiarism. To me, these should be set apart from just bad content because they are different from bad content and should be treated as such. I agree that downvoting isn't the answer for those either, but we can't also do nothing.

All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing. --Edmund Burke

Sort:  

In my design I posit that phishing, theft, and (Sybil attack) sockpuppets will not be profitable. So there’s no need to enable any other form of punishment. The activity will not be worthwhile so it won’t exist. No one will see the activity because of the not-one-size-fits-all rankings.

I think you’ll just need to reserve judgement until the said design is published/launched.

I guess I should, but I really don't see how you can make crime not profitable except through accountability. Phishing will always pay because the end result is that you get someone's wallet and money. Instant payday. You also get an account that you can use to upvote yourself and spread more comments that you can upvote. It's almost Zero work, so it is actually worthwhile because it doesn't cost anything to do. Maybe you've thought of a way around this. That would be nice.

One day after I wrote:

In my design I posit that phishing, theft, and (Sybil attack) sockpuppets will not be profitable. So there’s no need to enable any other form of punishment. The activity will not be worthwhile so it won’t exist.

Martin Armstrong wrote:

The government passed a law that if a family member was kidnapped, they froze the accounts of the family to prevent people from paying. At first, it seemed cruel. But once it was no longer profitable to kidnap people, it stopped.


Phishing will always pay because the end result is that you get someone's wallet and money.

We can attempt make wallets and procedures more “dummy proof”.

Are you proposing we should have downvoting or centralized control so we can penalize or recover stolen accounts? I disagree. The best way for people to learn not be fooled, is to be fooled a few times. And I don’t see how downvoting would help. The user who claims he was defrauded could be the one who is lying. You’re basically asking for a centralized system with a centralized administrator and strict identification procedures for all users. Sorry that is incompatible with decentralization and freedom.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.98
ETH 2320.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35