You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are vegans arrogant?

in #dlive6 years ago

Other Person: "Oh, you're vegan? So you eat fish, right?"

Me: "No, I don't eat anything with eyes." (As I try not to roll mine)

It is quite shocking how little people actually think about where their food comes from, and even less how those choices impact so many other beings and the planet itself. I am sad to admit I was probably put off by vegans years ago because (like most people) I didn't want to think I was so wrong. I think there was fear and defensiveness to have that mirror put up in front of my face, but it also makes you think about how people you love also were totally clueless (and many still are).

For me I don't think I would have made the switch except that I started researching the nutrition side of things. After seeing the overwhelming evidence that this is the way to eat for longevity and to support my daily health and activity level, then I became much more open to seeing how much of an environmental and ethical impact exploiting animals has. Which is kind of crazy to me because I cry when I accidentally run over a squirrel, but I never made the connection with eating a hamburger. I think you hit on a great point when you talk about calling "meat" what it really is.

Now I can totally understand how easy it is to get frustrated and perhaps not make the best representation of the lifestyle. Just this morning at work it seemed like everyone was talking about meat, butter, and just how delicious rich food is. Besides getting physically ill just thinking about all of that, I felt my defenses going up and knew if I said anything it would probably not come out right. Even though everyone is pretty supportive of my lifestyle, it is still hard to not have many people in my daily life that have taken that red pill. ;)

I think that's why I have enjoyed being on Steemit so much--I have found my tribe!! I don't think I'll ever be very good at advocating with my words, but I think I'm getting pretty darn good at wooing people with my food. Just like there are some of us who came to veganism for animal rights or health, there are plenty who will stay for the food. ;)

Thanks for bringing up a great topic Eve!

Sort:  

thanks girl!!! "I cry when I accidentally run over a squirrel, but I never made the connection with eating a hamburger. "

That really hits the nail. Many meat eaters have pets and love them, but regards other animals as just ingredients. I don't know why that is. It used to be the same for me....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57653.84
ETH 2354.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35