Making a Fake Capiz Shell Lamp ULOG #NINE

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

Fake Capiz Shell Lamp

I've always wanted one of these lamps that was in every home of every friend of my mom's when I was growing up. It seemed like every Filipino in Japan had one. My wife and I wanted buy a Capiz shell lamp but were shocked by how much they cost.

We decided to make our own lamp on the cheap using the leftover paper from our wedding invitations. I did our invitations myself so I really knew this paper well.

This lamp was made using Philips Slim LED bulbs and Neenah UV Ultra paper. We cut the circles with a 3 inch circle punch. We also bought Etekcity Remote Control Outlet Wireless Light Switch so we don't have to get up. And we added a Lutron dimmer, which I liked, but my wife didn't like all the cords.

Triple socket Cord

This is what the bare cord looks like. The shape of these Philips bulbs enables them to be flat against the cord whereas a round bulb would push against the wire.

Craft rings with hooks
6 hooks on the inner ring, 12 on the middle and 18 on the outside.

Craft rings with hooks
After you get the rings in, mount the rings to the ceiling. I used brass deck screws to mount.

Craft rings drilled into the ceiling.
I didn't bother painting them, but I may revisit this at a later time. Just be sure everything is centered.

Craft rings surrounding the light hook
These were the old bulbs. I switched to flat Phillips LED bulbs because they don't give off heat and they are dimmable.

UV Ultra paper by Neenah
The packaging has probably changed since I bought this. This was left over from our wedding invitations.

Circle punch
This circle punch worked, but isn't cutting as well. We hope it holds out for the second lamp.

Cut circles
Sticking a pin in the back of a pencil is how my wife made the holes for the string.

The string and pearls
If you need the UPC there it is.

String
Here's a close up of the pearls between the circles.

Inner Circle
This was the start of the inner circle.

How the light looks
Here's the light on.

Light off.
Here's the light off.

Lamp off
What the lamp looks like during the day.

Lamp on
LED's illuminated.

Measurements and costs
My wife is a Spreadsheet fiend.

Thanks,
@PixelColada

Monkey Avatar

| DTube | dLive | YouTube | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Blog |

My video is at DLive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57019.68
ETH 2888.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61