9mm Conversion Range

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

We recently made the decision to convert our duty weapons from Glock 22 .40 cal to Glock 17 9mm. There is definitely less recoil which should translate to quicker target re-acquisition. We saw some markedly impressive improvement with some of our marginal shooters. I convinced one of my guys to wear my camera while running the course as I called it.

We opted to have the weapons outfitted with F.A.T.S. sights. These sights are quite a bit different than the traditional Trijicon 3 dot sites I have used most of my career and I can see that there is a bit of a learning curve. The new sites will definitely be better suited for closer range combat shooting and I look forward to working with them and getting my sight alignment honed in for these particular sites.

Now that we are issuing a 9mm for duty carry, I can explore the possibility of doing some combat style shooting competitions in the production categories. As you can tell from the video there is a monumental difference in qualifying with a weapon and actually training with a weapon. Unfortunately, the state regulations to stay certified as a peace officer in my home state only require that you quality once per year and for many officers that is the only shooting training they attend. My local ranges host several combat shooting style competitions such as I.P.C.A., U.S.P.S.A., and three gun competitions.

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

I shot a Glock 22 .40 cal last summer and I really liked it. I think I would like the Glock 17 in 9mm a lot too.

I've carried a Glock 22 for most of my career. I'm looking forward to working with the more manageable recoil of the 17.

I hope it works out well for you.

spoko filmik!

I've never shot a real weapon, only virtual in games)) Pretty interesting first-person video. It is very pity that I can not see from afar if there is a hit on the target.

I appreciate you taking the time to comment. I believe on this run he shot about 93%

Get after it bro! :)

What range was the shooter at and what were the qualification requirements?

As you know I shoot 9mm in IPSC competitions and have been very happy with the caliber. Lower recoil is great. Hope you get the chance to get into a comp scenario soon. It’s a lot of fun.

This was at a local PD range we use to compete our yearly qualifications. I was calling the course.

The course of fire is 30 rounds from various distances including 25 yds, 15 yds, 7 yds, and 3 yds. There are 4 rounds from the 25 yard line, 4 rounds from the 15 yard line with a forced re-load, 14 rounds from the 7 yard line with a forced re-load and two head shots, and 8 rounds from the 3 yard line. Each stage of fire is timed. The target is set up with two different scoring possibilities: 10 points for the more accurate shots that should stop a deadly threat and 8 points for a non-critical hit, but still on target. The total perfect score would be 300 points and to considered qualified by the State you have to score at least 80 percent(240 points) once per year.

We also are required to qualify once a year with our rifles(if issued one) and our shotguns. Considering the seriousness of our jobs and the importance of being proficient with our weapons, I personally feel the guidelines are way to lenient and the qualifying does not address confrontational-style shooting. Having timed parameters helps, but it does not induce enough stress in my view. When we train instead of qualify(huge difference..lol) I have my guys move and shoot, shoot from various cover and concealment, shoot in teams with communication, and shoot from stages of disadvantage and with weak hand only. But, as you know, ammo is not cheap and many departments are hesitant to use more ammo than required to qualify yearly.

I need to work on the sight alignment with the new sights and I am definitely looking forward to exploring some of the competitions. Thanks again for taking the time to come by and comment and for the support, it means more than you know!

I agree that your boys and girls should have to shoot more to qualify; The thin blue line is the only thing between the baddies and the goodies and so proficiency should be at the upper level. It's the same here though. I shoot somewhere near 150-200 rounds a weekend pretty much most weekends and mostly under some form of duress and have to say I'm pretty proficient. Sure, no one is shooting back but the rounds land where I send them in rapid succession and I can shoot and move as required, safely and efficiently. All things IPSC shooting has taught me.

I'd really love to do some sort of comparison between myself, or the average IPSC shooter, and law enforcement officers. I think it's be quite telling.

Still, it's not all about shooting for LEO's and thankfully we have people who choose to put themselves in harms way to protect the people huh?

I have absolutely no doubt whatsoever that an average IPSC shooter would smoke an average LEO all day long. It is really disheartening how little the average cops shoots. I would guess that for the most part 60 to 75% of my guys only pick up their weapon when it is time to qualify.

My agency offers a box of ammo every quarter for them to practice on their own and only one or two guys actually take the time to grab the ammo.

It's pretty disappointing I think considering the job the guys and girls do. It's not really their fault either I guess; The system has to take some blame.

Thanks brother! I'm reallly digging the lower recoil, I just need some work on the F.A.T.S. sights. This was actually one of the Sgt. who works for me.

Never hold a gun before, I'm scare I'm gonna accidentally shot my foot... lol

Nothing to fear as long as you have the proper training! Thanks for commenting!

It was a new experience watching it first hand... Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74