You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Video Hosting On The Blockchain - What's The Best Platform? 📺

in #dlive6 years ago

I hear there's another developing on the blockchain as well. I don't see anything wrong with using all of them + embedding from youtube or vimeo. Yes, multi-posting. Because we all don't use the same platforms and they each have pros and cons. Unfortiunately, steemit is the tor of the dark-blockchain. We see everything show up we ever post even accross apps. It's unavoidable to have duplications. Now it would be good to multipost also because sometimes Dtube doesn't load and I want to watch something now. And you can't embed one post into another. Likewise, some people are boycotting one platform but not another. So why not spread your content around? For those concerned about multiple upvotes for the same content on different platforms, I quote the FAQ:

There are no rules.

I'm still waiting for those who say it's all about others to make me the other that it's all about -- still waiting. Hey, just keeping it 100.

Sort:  

Yeah but no audience wants to be jerked around. For the longest while no one could watch my DTube videos due to lag, I had to add Youtube embeds and then everyone said they just watched those on my DTube posts, making it pointless. DLive is the first platform that I can consistently use and rely on that doesn't loop me around to still using centralized platforms like Youtube to keep my level of quality

I believe you can host your own files on as.many servers or computers as you like with IPFS. If you have enough boxes the files won't ever come down. What is the point of dlive if you don't host your own videos? It's not decentralized. Might as well call it centralized live.

So what are you suggesting the general public do? They won't be hosting their own

The sites have a large probability of failure then Scott. This is reality. Either the users host the files , or the sites will be centralized (same as google, stickam,justin.tv, imeem, etc) . Remember Kazaa, Limewire? The users hosted the files them self. This is not new technology. P2P filesharing has been around for a long time now.

as a professional social media marketer I'm thinking long term, I'm thinking mass adoption

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36