Should everything deemed "unscientific" be rejected?

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

I have a lot of respect for the scientific method, but sometimes I think it has a polarising effect in discussions about certain issues: ie, if you don't adhere totally to the findings of the latest scientific research, you must be talking nonsense, or espousing “pseudoscience”, or fake news.

While I understand the importance of scientific research – for clinical trials of new drugs, for example, or for the testing of new foods – I think it's sometimes helpful to step outside it. Just because something hasn't been subject to rigorous scientific research doesn't necessarily mean it's wrong or bad. Sometimes it's just due to lack of funding, or time, as research can take many years.

Experimental health treatment

As an example, I've recently been experimenting with a very controversial treatment for a condition that I haven't even been medically diagnosed with, though I had all the symptoms. Certainly my health has improved enormously while on this treatment.

My symptoms started in 2014, when I put on a lot of weight – 31lbs – within about eight months. I was following a fairly healthy eating regime at the time, low in fat and with lots of fresh fruit and veg.

I then started to suffer from exhaustion, sleeping excessively, and I found it impossible to do running, which I had always loved, for more than 20 minutes at a time. My resting pulse rate was around 50 beats per minute – very low, unless you're very fit, which I certainly wasn't!

Reiki

I tried to find out what was causing my problems, without success, until I did a session of Reiki – a natural health treatment that is often branded as a “pseudoscience”! During the treatment, I felt a lot of warmth in my neck and throat area, and the practitioner said this was probably due to a thyroid issue.

This was like a lightbulb moment for me, as I had all the symptoms of hypothyroidism, including a very low core temperature. It was often as low as 35.2C, and it would fluctuate during the day.

I saw my doctor and had a blood test, which showed me to be in perfect health with TSH (thyroid stimulating hormone) levels in the “normal” range. However TSH levels are often said to fluctuate frequently.

With the National Health Service pronouncing me well, I was relieved that I would not be on drugs for life, which is the usual treatment for hypothyroidism. But I also knew that something was not right with my health, and that my treatment would be in my own hands.

I initially tried treating my thyroid problem with adaptogenic herbs, like Chinese ginseng and Rehmannia. I saw no improvement. After doing more research, I started to take 250mcg of iodine each day, the recommended dose. After six weeks there was no change in my symptoms.

Iodine treatment

Then I stumbled across Lynne Farrow's book, The Iodine Crisis, online. It recommended taking very high doses of iodine, in the region of 50mg per day, which is conventionally seen as potentially damaging to the thyroid. But I felt I needed to do something, and I decided to give this treatment a try.

Iodine books Farrow Brownstein.jpg

I also read Dr David Brownstein's book on iodine. Dr Brownstein is one of the pioneers behind the “high-dose iodine protocol”, which has only been in practice for a couple of decades – a very short time in scientific terms.

Farrow and Brownstein advise starting low and building up the dosage gradually, as well as taking a range of “companion nutrients” while on the treatment. I followed their advice to the letter, as I realised I was effectively a guinea pig in this treatment. Iodine has been used medicinally for decades, but not in such large doses.

I documented my self-treatment in a series of video diaries for my YouTube channel Freethinking Health.

Dramatic improvement in health

In May 2017, after almost a year on 50mg of iodine a day, I started to see a marked improvement in my health. It was quite a dramatic improvement, and I gradually reduced the dose of iodine over the next few months.

This treatment was a huge success for me. I can't speak for anyone else, although I know there are many other people who have benefited from the high-dose iodine protocol.

Unscientific?

But it has not been subject to extensive clinical trials. It is considered unconventional and controversial, possibly a pseudoscience. And because of this, many people who are suffering with thyroid problems refuse to try it. In fact I know several people who have underactive thyroid (hypothyroidism) or Hashimoto's disease, who refuse to take any iodine supplementation at all, because of the risk that it could make their condition worse, or tip them over to hyperthyroidism (overactive thyroid).

These people will be taking medication – usually thyroxine – for life. I have told my friends that the high-dose iodine protocol worked wonders for me, and they've seen it with their own eyes.

But I won't do more than suggest it to them once, or maybe twice.

What works for me might not work for someone else. It's up to them whether they decide to try this treatment or not, and clearly there are many people who refuse to step outside the boundaries of clinically provescience.

I'm not saying that they should or shouldn't do this. But I am saying that there are some cases where I like to use my personal judgement to step outside the established boundaries of science.

I don't think this is utter nonsense or “pseudoscience”. It's just an alternative view.

Swirly divider.png

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Swirly divider.png

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 256 (9/13/18)

Hey I have some experience taking Iodine.
When my wife got pregnant with our first child she was diagnosed with low iodine levels.
So we didnt go to the Dr and she self medicated with Thyadine.
It worked well and I thought what the hell I must be off too. So I started taking a few drops too.

About this time we discovered that table salt had iodine added because they kill it before selling it to us. So I just knew I had to be off. We started using Pink Himalayan Salt.

Well long story shortened about 2 years ago I took a few too many drops one night. Then a hour later my heart started racing. When I got to the emergency room my pulse was 220 BPM!
While they were inserting the IVs I grunted a bit and it caused my pulse to return to normal. They recommended I get on a beta blocker and gave me one before they would let me leave the hospital. That crap made me dizzy and I never took another one.

I am fine now but no more extra Iodine for me.
My point BE CAREFUL! That shit is powerful.
If your heart starts racing strain like your pooping and you can push it back down without a visit to the emergency room costing you $1500 dollars.
Eliminating a big scare to yourself and everyone you love.

Wow.. thanks for the heads up... , I will be careful... and Ill be talking to @goblinknackers about this as he is my health guru...

This is one of my YouTube videos that has a lot of warnings about doing the high-dose iodine protocol. I didn't mention it earlier because I was really using my iodine experience to make a point about science and scientific research, not trying to plug my YouTube videos... but having read @iamstan's comments I do want to emphasise that this is a relatively unresearched area so you do have to be extra-careful.

That sounds like a very scary experience - thanks for sharing. This is why I consider myself and others who do this treatment as guinea pigs, and why I would recommend it to other people, but ONLY if they do a lot of research first, or alternatively, consult an iodine-literate practitioner.
When I started doing the high-dose iodine protocol, I built the dosage up slowly and carefully, monitoring my resting heart rate and core temperature three times a day without fail. I did that throughout the procedure, taking extensive notes. I also took companion nutrients and did the "salt-loading" procedure in the early stages of the treatment.
Even after the treatment had been successful for me, I continued to monitor my resting pulse rate and core body temperature, and at one point my temperature seemed to be increasing quite strongly day by day, so I stopped taking iodine for a while.
I also kept in touch with Facebook groups on this subject, so that I could consult others who had tried the protocol to find out their experiences if I had any problems. This was a great help.
This procedure is definitely not one to be taken lightly, as I repeatedly say in my YouTube videos on the subject. I would have consulted an iodine-literate practitioner if I'd been able to find one in the UK, but I only know of one, and she is so popular that she's not taking on any new patients!

What really matters is that it works, right? They can even be shamanic dances, if in that case it works, then there would be nothing wrong.

Most people cannot even define what science is, and it is an important philosophical issue, modern science is more than anything a methodology, the fact that something can be proven or not by that methodology does not mean that it is right or wrong.

The scientific method is an instrument, a good instrument, but it should not be attributed qualities that it does not possess, and a quality that science certainly does not possess is the absolute truth, so you don't have to trust blindly and surely in their judgments, its always necessary to make a personal judgment and choose what is to be taken and what is not.

I hope you are well by the way... greetings!

Thanks for your excellent comment @vieira. I particularly like these lines:

modern science is more than anything a methodology, the fact that something can be proven or not by that methodology does not mean that it is right or wrong

and

The scientific method is an instrument, a good instrument, but it should not be attributed qualities that it does not possess, and a quality that science certainly does not possess is the absolute truth

I've noticed a few instances recently where science is being treated like a religion and as you say, it's not – it's a methodology.

I am a huge fan of scientific method. With things that can be quantified, it only makes sense. Not all things can be quantified.

And test results make me crazy. How many times have we read that coffee is deadly to humans? I've been drinking a couple liters per day for a lot of years (approaching 50) and I'm still breathing quite nicely, thank you.

The reason? Sample size is too small. A cancer research team will note that 68% of people that have X cancer drink coffee everyday. It looks bad, and in order to keep grant money coming they publish a preliminary report. Headlines scream "Coffee is DEADLY". What the research team didn't check is that 73% of the people that don't have cancer X also drank coffee every day. Or that their original survey was in a place that has an environmental reason for Cancer X that became apparent after the preliminary report.

Ugggghhh. Sorry. I really think that people that pay close attention to themselves and their bodies will have an inkling of what they need. It's not always more dope from more doctors.

Thanks for a great and balanced view on the subject.

You're so right! And I'm glad you enjoyed my rant. I like your example, because that's exactly it - scientific research can often be tweaked to suit different outcomes. That's why randomised control trials are so important - they aim to exclude factors that could distort the outcome - but they take years to do and are usually very costly.
And yes, just because something can't be quantified doesn't necessarily mean it should be rejected.

My cousin died of Hypothyroid, it was her heart that conked-out after giving birth which made her offspring died in the process too.
She is iodine deficient because they live in mountain and they eat not much seafood.

That's dreadful. Hypothyroidism can be such a serious condition, and it can be linked to many complications in childbirth. The body needs more iodine during pregnancy and childbirth. Thyroid problems often occur in mountainous regions because of iodine deficiency - crops have less iodine due to soil erosion. I'm sorry to hear about your cousin.

I would say no, just because we cannot prove something under the scientific method does not mean it is not valid.

Thanks for your comment!

How dare you!! How dare you cut big pharma out of their expect earnings from providing you life long medicines? You should be ashamed of yourself missy.
Just kidding, good for you and I am glad it worked. Each person is different and they need to try things that may not be "proven" but doctors won't ever suggest anything that isn't "proven" and that they can't write a prescription has been what I have seen with the wife and kids.

Yes, I think it's more about being aware of what has been scientifically tested – and to what extent – and what hasn't, so that you've got some idea of the risks that you might be taking.
And of course, just because it has been tested doesn't mean it's necessarily safe. My mum was advised to take a new drug to help her morning sickness when she was pregnant with me. She took it for a week, and then heeded my grandmother's advice never to take new drugs during pregnancy. I'm so grateful to my grandma, and to my mum for listening to her, as the drug was Thalidomide.

Oh that was some wicked drug with bad birth defects tied to it, your grandma was a smart lady to steer your mother away from that.

Now this is interesting. I went to the docs about the same thing around a year ago. No energy, but no weight gain and asked him about the thyroid. He did the checks via blood and found it to be borderline low.

More tests and the 2nd time it was more in range, case dismissed.

Yet I'm still knackered all the time. Someone at work suggested Iodine some time ago. I still relate it to the stuff that makes you jump out of your skin when applied to a cut.

Maybe.. I should give it a go.

I recommend it, but read the books first, as when you start taking the iodine you can get strong detox symptoms, and you'll need to know how to handle them.
I'd also avise you to get a thermometer and a finger pulse reader and take your pulse and temperature three times a day. If they are on the low side, it could well be an underactive thyroid.
This is a very common problem in the UK, in fact we're said to be the sixth most iodine-deficient country in the world, according to World Health Organisation stats. This is probably because we're one of the few countries that doesn't have a policy of iodising salt.
And once you become iodine-deficient it can take quite a lot of time to build your reserves back up again.

Be careful read my reply below!

if it's not scientifically proven then how do we know that is valid. Many scams claim that their method works better, dont believe them.

This is my exact point in talking about my experience on high-dose iodine. There can be many reasons why something has not been scientifically tested, but you should be aware - as I was when following the high-dose iodine protocol - that I was taking a calculated risk, and that I was in effect, a guinea pig.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62663.38
ETH 2445.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67