Philosophical Thoughts on Cryptocurrencies

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Attempting to kill two birds with one stone. Testing out an new (yet very old) laptop running a Linux & OBS combination, and recording some thoughts on my position regarding cryptocurrencies.

As with everything I share on my blog, all my opinions and ideas are meant as invitation for discussions. So if you agree or disagree, don't be shy in the slightest and let me know.

Much love to you all

@meno

img src

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

The entire concepts of "true happiness" and "purpose in life" are things that elude me. We've been so brainwashed by the "American Dream" that we never are able to see the simple things around us that make up the life of a financially poor person. At some point, having a place to live that's warm and dry, having food to eat and clothes to wear becomes the things we are thankful for. Without the generosity of the person in who's house I live, I would most likely either be homeless or imposing on one of my children for a place to live. I'm sure I could rent a shitty apartment, but it would probably take the bulk of my social security to pay for that every month.
To me, this crypto thing is an on-going distraction from an otherwise boring reality, it gives me an outlet to share my interests, and allows me to socialize with people who I would not have otherwise met. To me, the crypto value side of it is mostly just a point system, an illusion that has the possibility to become real in a small way, should I ever need to convert some of it to fiat. I don't even dream about being able to live on it at this point. It will have to survive the determined attempts of the international financial system to destroy it before it will be capable of supporting people.

your perspective amber is so interesting, because you've walked a longer path to be where you are at the moment. So, you speak as someone who has lived, truly lived. I don't even have children, so as much as I can imagine how it must feel to need to not impose to my kids, I can't really feel it, feel it.

In any case, I think we are still at an advantage with this whole thing. We are still early adopters, and yet to see the real outcome sort of speak.

Awesome video Meno and great guitar collection on the wall ahah.

Me personally, goals are healthy but only goals that are possible - you made a good point about trying to get rich, failing and getting crippling depression. It happens to a lot of people, that's why I believe having multiple small goals is better than one radical goal.

Also, what does being rich and poor in cryptocurrency look like? Honestly being rich in crypto is having a huge follower base, these people follow you in hopes you share your knowledge. This may not be the case when more applications bring in a mass of normies but at the moment I really believe that only the rich on the Steemit platforms get the followers.

I increasingly think that feeling rich or wealthy (because its perception really) is probably more connected to purpose than almost anything else. So if you are a communicator, someone who enjoys interaction, communities, etc, etc. Then yes, having followers, building that community around you is your wealth.

That makes perfect sense... Chasing the mighty dollar for the sake of chasing it, has never given anyone lasting joy. Or at least, I've never heard of such thing.

Chasing the mighty dollar for the sake of chasing it, has never given anyone lasting joy.

And those who do chase it end up failing miserably. If you have a passion for something, the money will find you.

That's been my experience in life as well, but I learned the hard way! hahahah

I agree with you both here on Venezuela most of the users at first just blog hoping to get a nice revenue and be able to cover their day by day expenses, I personally, had been dealing with issues like that. But ever since I began blogging and reading other people's blogs, I've noticed that the best way to became successful and in a way feel rich like you said with crypto currency is when you can maintain a perfect balance between your followers, content and your own investment. For instance, I'm a singer and usually I'm watching other singers on the platform. So I try to keep in touch with them from time to time, at the same time I try to get nice earnings and I use those earnings arrange meeting s with artists and invest on equipment to improve my gear.

this article is like hit the nail on head...thanku

Yes totally agreed your article

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64564.26
ETH 3223.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65