My Epic Drone Crash

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

I think it’s as important to discuss our failures as it is to revel in our successes. So here’s one of my recent spectacular failures! I had purchased a 3DR Solo Drone some time ago for a music video shoot in the desert. It hadn’t seen any action for almost a year and I decided a little sunset flight would be in order. I headed down to Santa Monica beach and took off. Now mind you, I had heard people had problems with the 3DR Solo (such as it dropping out of the sky for no reason) but I was sure that wouldn’t happen to me…

I had flown for about 12 minutes and decided a nice slow flight over the waves would be beautiful before landing.

I started flying right to left over the waves. Perfect.

Then I began doing the shot in reverse and….

Maybe you should watch the video… You’ll see the last glorious seconds of my Solo’s last flight.

It plummeted into the ocean about 50 feet offshore. Imagine me wading into the water trying to retrieve it? I did. It was the wade of shame as spectators watched me retrieve the still glowing drone out of the water.

The motto of my story? Go out in glory!
P.S. I did get another drone BTW. One that does not have a history of falling out of the sky for no apparent reason!

Feel free to follow me here:
Instagram:
Website:
Facebook:

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

oh crap! that hurts

Russian hackers.

Haha! Or just glitchy software ;-)

@markvicente, I see this is your first video! Welcome to DLive! I think if I owned one and watched it crash like that I would have cried.

I was in a state of shock for a while then rationalized my grief by being thankful it didn’t land on a person!

Que lástima que no disfrutaste de tu primer Drone. Ojalá el otro no te defraude je je.

Welcome to Dlive Mark! I dunno how I would feel about crashing one of these myself lol

Haha. I don't recommend it ;-)

Very bad luck Mark, hope you could rescue it somehow ... . Never the less, have a nice rest Sunday!

Unfortunately that was it's end. But now shooting with a better more reliable drone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67010.34
ETH 2604.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72