Cruising down the Bay of Biscay

in #dlive7 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

This video of the rough sea in the Bay of Biscay was taken on the first day of my Mediterranean cruise from the UK. To get from the UK to the Meds, you have to first sail down the Bay of Biscay. This stretch of coastline along the west of France and north of Spain faces the Atlantic Ocean, and is notorious for its rough seas and strong gale winds.
這個在比斯海灣拍的視頻是從英國坐遊輪到地中海的第一天拍攝。比斯海灣是從英國到地中海必經之路,它在法國西部和西班牙北部的海岸線面向大西洋,以波濤洶湧的大浪和強風暴風雨而聞名。

The first day of a cruise is usually the liveliest onboard as everyone wanders around to explore the cruise ship and get to know everyone. Yet this first day was quite deserted as it seems most people were suffering from sea sickness and were resting in their rooms. During dinner time, I was chatting to a couple who had been on this route three times already and they said they had never seen the sea so rough before.
遊輪啓航的第一天船上通常是最熱鬧,乘客都會在船上四處走動,認識遊輪的設施和其他乘客。但這個第一天相當冷清,似乎很多人都挺不住波濤洶湧的大浪,要在房間休息。當天晚餐時,我跟一對夫婦聊天,他們說這是他們第4次乘這條航線,之前都沒見過這麼樣洶湧的大浪。

In this video, I'm on the top deck of the ship, that is the 19th floor. I think the bottom 4 decks are below sea level so that is still 15 decks above the surface of the sea. Every time I watch this video and see the waves throwing themselves up towards the top deck, I still feel a bit seasick!
在這個視頻中,我是站在船的頂層,亦是19樓。我記得最底的4層是在海面之下,所以在是海面上還有15層樓高。到現在,我每次看這個視頻,見到大浪拋到差不多到船頂,我都還覺得有點暈船浪!

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

There is nothing better than being out on the sea on a big (safe) boat. No trace of your seasickness in the picture of you, haha.

That was when we just went out to the deck, you should have saw me 10 minutes later!

Wooow, This is Wonderfull @livinguktaiwan

waves are OK; at least you didn't come across an iceberg :D
reminds me of my trip to Tangier; everybody got got sick except me.

An iceberg! That would be really scary!

Coold, wetttttt, dark, rocky boat.... hihi looks like fun ;)

It was .... initially 🤣

I’ve never been on an ocean cruise before. Sound like this would be a bad way to experience it the first time. Good thing you are an old salt.

Actually it was only my second cruise as its not really my cup of tea, but its definitely an experience

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Look at the waves! Seems scary and amazing at the same time :D

You're spot on, a few of the big waves were really very amazing to watch

Wow, I love to watch these waves!

Until I start to feel sea sick while sitting at home 🤣

天啊!浪已經大到 15 樓都可以潑得到了!當下應該晃得很厲害吧!影片天氣看起來還沒有暴風雨的感覺,浪看起來很扎實呀哈哈

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63773.27
ETH 2738.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59