You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Daily Owl. Ep. 05: The Immutable, Objective, Metaphysical, Natural Law Reality of Individual Self-Ownership

in #dlive6 years ago

I used to be exactly like you. I was a very idealistic libertarian.

I’m the farthest thing from an idealist there is. Maybe you mean something more like unwilling to compromise on certain things?

It won't just work itself out automatically, though. A voluntaryist society would probably the toughest model to get functioning and rolling.

I don’t see it that way. To the contrary, the way things are set up now is totally laborious, complex, and ultimately untenable. Not to mention murderous. On top of all of this, I don’t really care if it all works out for “society” as much as I want to see individuals afforded the basic dignity to be. I’m in it for me. I want to be as free as possible.

That's why I don't think it's worth the time to really try to persuade "statists" too much; voluntaryists should just build their own society elsewhere. The people who would move in would be people who already respect the idea of freedom.

You may have a point here. Although, I have seen a few converted. I was one of them, too.

Sort:  

I’m the farthest thing from an idealist there is.

But I doubt you would call yourself a pragmatist, and I think both you and the LP would describe their "inside-the-system" approach as more pragmatic than idealistic. Right?

Yes, and their definitions would be incorrect. Because justifying violation in the name of minimizing it is highly impractical. And their belief that “the right man” in power can make everything better is the height of idealistic lunacy. I wanna take the real meanings and definitions back! :)

....I 'think' (definitely in the 'think' stage), I may have found a compromise in systems - that could work...
This is most definitely in the ether at the moment...but hopefully it will lead to something that encapsulates most ideologies...
....including communism! Yes, I said it. lol

Voluntaryism can already include communists, so long as they do not initiate force.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56478.46
ETH 2384.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34