Kraken to Suspend All Service for Japanese Residents

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

LIVE BROADCAST:

Thumbnail

Well. That was not the kind of email I wanted to receive this morning. Kraken, my exchange of choice, will soon be suspending all services for Japan residents.

The reason: "Kraken first launched exchange services for Japan residents in October of 2014. We deeply regret suspending this long-standing relationship and hope to resume services for Japan residents in the future. However, at the present time, it is impractical to continue service for Japan residents. The decision involved careful consideration of revenue against the costs and resources required to maintain service."

TRANSLATION: FSA government regulation is too goddamn expensive.

Giving my take on this unfortunate situation, talking about the drawbacks of government "adoption," and also the opportunities that can be found in this situation.

My live stream is at DLive

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DTube and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

The government in some neighborhoods do not care for the benefit of the people and the people
The article is really sad
I hope to improve the situation

Good news! I have to start promotion for this page. 3,000 ETH. Enjoy!

All information: https://today-eth.pw

Da560PIWAAAg7yl.jpg


That sucks, sorry to hear it. I just finally started with bitshares. I have been using bittrex mostly simply because it's familiar but cryptopia has some promising features as well. I particularly enjoy the marketplace.

Hope you find a new exchange.

Regulation is control. Control is the methodology of all things inherently evil.
Aristotle makes this evident and true in the philosophy written in the Rhetoric

Man, that's though. I also use Kraken as my go to exchange from bitshares. But they still operate well in Europe.

I think I saw a notice about that the last time I was in there a few weeks ago.

I hope you find an equally useful exchange soon mate.

Cheers man. I appreciate it. I have found a couple promising Japan-based leads so far... Thanks.

Disappointing to hear, but just a small bump on a long highway.

Bitcoin has the right balance of pros and cons. That's why it's so popular.

In a country like Japan, such a situation has been created or is actually very sad. Hope this situation improves.

Sorry to hear that, but things will be fine please take care. Good day friend.

I have never used Kraken, I use Binance mostly, Bitshares is cool but the low liquidity and coin options stop me using regularly.

Binanace must be so heavily controlled by now... I hope the decenteralised exchanges are more widely adopted.

Same here man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61986.20
ETH 2421.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63