Unschooling Chat: Math, Savings, and Crypto

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

EDIT: I'm terribly sorry guys. This was one of my favorite streams yet (I was joined by my son live for some gaming/testing out a new online game) but for whatever reason, the playback isn't generating. The issue has been forwarded to the DLive devs, and will hopefully be resolved soon.

It doesn't take children long to learn, through simple and repeated observation,

that money buys things. Things they want!

Children become familiar with and interested in the concept of money and trade quite naturally. Many love the feeling of being an entrepreneur. Whether that means opening up a lemonade stand, selling pictures, or making a small baseball "toy shop" for their friends.

With an interest in money comes some necessary and practical math, which I have also found most kids are interested in immensely, until public schooling teaches them that it is a chore, and a monotonous subject disconnected from meaning and real life.

Today, my son was asking for some cardboard. He wanted to make a bank. Together, we did just that. In this live chat, I want to talk about money, math, and unschooling, as well as share some new resources that are developing, such as this site where kids can practice math, and which even boasts of adding a Bitcoin incentive capability down the road. Interesting.

While I don't think any incentives are needed to "make learning fun" (God, I hate that puke-worthy bullshit phrase) I am interested in learning more about this new site. My son also holds some crypto in paper wallet form, so he's down like a clown!

Join me in the LIVE CHAT to share your thoughts.

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DLive and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Support Voluntary Japan!


Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/voluntaryjapan

Steem/SBD: @voluntaryjapan

BCH: qqvmdr3l0dlmjqdekkzgsdeg8hq2s9zt5ud3h004r7

BTC: 1MfENEp9tkJMHmrrj5rPKzohYNCw9S6qFw

ETH: 0x9199c3844fd8d3642b39175414c8ffcd403c7aaf

DSH: XpqAkZqHnE12pN9oKapd1Vmj91HSeb93K1

QTUM: 0x9199c3844fd8d3642b39175414c8ffcd403c7aaf

My live stream is at DLive

Sort:  

No working for me either. Oh well. Resteemed in the hopes of putting pressure on @dlive to fix it so this kind of thing stops happening. Love the idea of chatting in the stream with your son. I hope the problem gets fixed soon so I can watch.

(also I need ideas for teaching my son. Tho my situation is a little more challenging because as soon as I start teaching him—math or reading—my youngest starts crying and demands my attention, or runs up and hits him and they start fighting. le sigh)

Lol. Child sibling rivalry. An animal I’ve never dealt with except when I was one (a child sibling...not an animal) :) Well, I’m sure there’s a way to streamline it. They’ll probably be teaching each other soon.

Thanks for trying to watch. They said the issue will be forward to the devs. I’ve been putting the pressure on a bit as well, as I really wanted to share this, and hate the thought of people clicking and not being able to watch.

Ah well, what are you gonna do, hey? Sure something good will come out of it.

Fantastic and extraordinary work with this one. Nice presentation! Glad to peer you posting again. Thank you for the updates.

Thank you. Are you able to view the playback? I cannot :(

Ah, nevermind. You're one of these guys.

Screen Shot 2018-09-08 at 17.52.07.png

I am so sorry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79