Building an Asian Giant Hornet Trap!

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

We've been finding ŌSUZUMEBACHI (Asian Giant Hornets) here in the house recently, and had been getting concerned that they may be nesting in this old farm house we are renting. As such, I took to the internet, learned how to make a trap (mostly for monitoring purposes, in my case) and learned a bit about their life cycle in the process.

I think the slow, dopey ones we have been finding in the house may be either brand new workers or scouts (unlikely according to Wiki) or weak, uninseminated queens in search of nesting spots.

Anywho, in this video I will describe my experiences with the Vespa Mandarinia (beautiful name, isn't it?) and precautions that should be taken in dealing with these often "gentle" bees that can be deadly to humans in certain cases.

JOIN ME, HOMESLICES!

My video is at DLive

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DLive and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

When I was a kid we lived near the woods and we saw hornets on a regular basis, if you didn’t mess with them they didn’t mess with you however if you’re dumb enough to piss them off they’ll fuck you up.
I was on a bus in Corfu - Greece many years ago, we were driving through the mountains and one came through the window and started buzzing the driver, rather than stopping the bus the moron started freaking out and nearly took the bus over the side of the mountain road, it was truly fucking scary.
A real brown trouser event! 😂
Be careful dude, they ain’t afraid of anything.

I sometimes find one at university, then I will have all the students leave the room while I try to get rid of them. Could call the office to send me some “professional” but that what take quite some time I reckon

Yeah, they usually just kind of mind their business and leave once a window is open. The whole prospect of having to go to the doctor and lose work time/fun time/learning time is what bothers me. That and of course my family's safety. I am going to have to look into to epi-pens. I am not allergic to bees that I know of (have been stung many, many times), but I am not sure about Isaiah and Miyuki.

Giant Asian Hornet my favourite do a lap or two around the house bug. Yikes.

How wonderful many adventures in this new stage ... Successes with the trap and a lot of caution.

Cheers! Will do.

this is amazing, good luck my friend yes

I would freak out lol I saw a spider on the floor in my office today and let out one of those screams. I called up to my husband for him to come to my rescue. He caught the big fat dark brown hairy spider and went to flush it. It didn't go down. The kleenexes did though. We flushed again, it still swam back up and started climbing back up the side of the toilet to the rim. Third flush was a winner. It was a hard one, Frank tried to squash it. TRIED to squash it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51