Compose a Song in 1 Hour Using Ableton Live Without Being a Professional Musician!

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

Any of us with no formal music education today can use a digital audio workstation like Ableton Live 10, FL Studio 12, GarageBand, and Logic Pro X to compose a beautiful piece of music without being a professional musician! The question is how do we do that and why would we want to? For the best answer, will you please watch this video because I start with explaining why we might love composing our own music and then I show how easy it is for me to make an entire song in an hour despite my lack of formal music education AND never having even consistently played or been trained on any musical instruments?

For those that want to read, let us first look at why. Many of us enjoy playing musical instruments and have fantasized at some point about sharing that music we the world. We often do have years of education in music although this is not necessary today with an abundance of video courses which can be watched in a few months for a relatively low cost from the comfort of our homes. What stops us is thinking that making a "real track" and getting it published is difficult or that we need to have a big following for it to be worth it.

Why Compose a Song in 1 Hour Using Ableton Live without Being a Professional Musician? The best reason is because making a track from nothing in just an hour is a lot of fun and we get to listen to our own music! Once we have our track composed, sharing it with friends and family brings us into vulnerability which empowers us to more deeply connect with the people we already love in our lives.

Once we are motivated to start or resume where we left off, the question is how do we produce a song today? I hope this full video tutorial will show how I do it which is the exact way I gain inspiration to do it myself. If the software looks confusing, watching a few video courses makes it easy.

To learn Ableton Live 10, I have watched hours of video courses from my friend Tomas George with https://www.digitalmusicmasters.com/ because Tomas makes it easy to get started using Ableton Live 10 in his complete Ableton courses. I literally watch him use a compressor and then start trying it out myself right afterwards.

For more inspiration on making music generally, learning from deadmau5 and Armin van Buuren with masterclass at https://jerrybanfield.com/masterclass/ has helped me a lot to see that even the very highest paid electronic dance music composers and DJs are saying that anyone can basically make a best seller using their laptop and a digital audio workstation.

My hope is that my music video tutorials give you that inspiration because when you see me composing a song, you might think "if he can do it, I definitely can try" which is how I got here with you today.

Thank you for watching with me today! If you want to join me for some dancing, will you skip to 59 minutes because this is where I add the drum loops and break out my dance moves! Out of the 47 songs I have composed now since starting music production in 2017 as a hobby, this is one of my favorites and I hope you enjoy it!

If you want to listen to more of my music, these are the best places to do it!

https://steemit.com/@jerrybanfield
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLwjXVhbTO15NSJyo4OzbXJzbWn_0k5JCa
https://soundcloud.com/jbanfield
https://jerrybanfield.com/podcast/
http://itunes.apple.com/podcast/id915442105

Love,

Jerry Banfield

Shared on:

Let's stay together?

Our Most Important Votes on Steem are for Witness!

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

This is awesome, jerrybanfield! I was wondering how musicians produce their music without any instruments! I was ashamed to ask, now you answered my question! Thanks for sharing this valuable knowledge, surely even me can produce my own without the help of the pros, and you just provided some music lovers who wanted to produce but doesn’t have the means! Thank you, again from the bottom of my heart!

@jerrybanfield how can i get vote from you

Love you man.....You rock !!

Good post, amazing

Wow cool, very beautiful music.

:-D Jerry you're such a renaissance man! You probably bring more people here to Steemit than anyone else.

This awesome, Jerrybanfield! I’ve been wondering for a long time how this musicians from other countries produce their background music with no instruments, and now this answered my question! Thanks for sharing, this will really inspire a lot of musicians who are disappointed coz they can go nowhere without musical instruments! Maybe I will try producing my own to test it! God bless you!

@aidasfg7 thank you for watching and commenting because I have hope that sharing more of these will be useful and I love making the videos!

music is my life good post @jerrybanfield

Music is food to the soul. With music, we can get our grind

You are faaaar from non-professional, Jerry, and Armin is just rephrasing Michelangelo's "every block of stone has a statue inside it and it is the task of the sculptor to discover it" Michelangelo! You're too damn inspiring, Jerry!!!! by 1:01:30 I was just laughing LOL in a good way of course :) Lets suck together big time!

By the way ~ I am here to open Silent Zen on Steemit ~ The Indie Musicians support community I conduct for few years :)

☮ Silent Zen ~ Indie ~ Music ~ Photo ~ Art ~ Support ☮

.... and by by the way - here is the last playlist on SC with most authentic dudes and dudessess , I wish to join steemit, dsound, dtube and dlive

It is all about emotion and expressing them from inside out :)

https://soundcloud.com/silent-zen/sets/emotions-silent-zen

.... and I do feel good! Supporting bedroom musicians and being one is truly rewarding (for past 4 years in my life being brightest as well). Having said so with latest turmoil of earlier platform like soundcloud betraying indie arsists and blockchain music is ramping up, but to tech scary/difficult for many) it is thrilling to see someone like you Jerry with enormous ignition power working hard .... strike that .... having fun and most cool! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57806.13
ETH 2453.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36