Classical Violin Practice - De Beriot Concerto IX in A minor

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

I was feeling pretty low today. One thing that always seems to help is playing some music, and this piece definitely fit my mood and helped to take my mind off my current worries/doubts/fears about the future. It's the first part of the Adagio movement of the De Beriot Concerto IX in A minor. Tricky timing and lots of runs. Might have to pull out my metronome next time and do some counting. It's a beautiful piece though and I was feeling every note.

Let me know what you think. Maybe it's how you're feeling today too.

Stay tuned

Jackie O

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

It is a beautiful piece @jackieobermeyer and you played it beautifully. I could feel your emotions through. Hope you are feeling better? I've always wanted to learn to play the violin. Was it hard to learn? The one song I've always wanted to try is the "Last of the Mohican" theme song I feel like crying each time I hear this piece. And since I do not know how to play the violin yet, I tried it on guitar and it sort of works.

Thanks so much @marblely! I am feeling better! Music always helps. I would say that violin is a fairly challenging instrument to learn to play, but once you are familiar with it, it makes it easier to learn other stringed instruments. A good time investment in my books! :)

P.S. Check out my most recent post. I learned a little something for you!

Thank you so so much @jackieobermeyer! I can't believe you learnt it! Thank you, thank you 😘😘😘 You are awesome! You made my day :) Aaaahhh..... A happy week to you there @jackieobermeyer! I hope to be able to play that one day (in my dreams......)

So happy I could brighten your day! :D Dreaming it is the first step towards making it a reality!

Hi jackieobermeyer,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks so much for the vote @curie! Much appreciated! :D

Thanks for sharing your version of this concerto. You have a nice vibrato and a solid tuning, especially on the lower tones...

Thanks for the listen @organduo! I love the low notes...I actually would love to learn to play the cello. That's how much I love them. Haha.

Thank you for sharing this beautiful music in your performance @jackieobermeyer. I love violin and my little cousin started to play just a year ago, so I enjoy every single moment and really excited to see how all those classic music became alive. Your play was so passion-full and full of love to music. I have to show it to my little cousin, her favorite one is "Avec Que La Marmotte" from Beethoven. She can play it very well for her age :)

Cheers, from Art-supporting blog,@art-venture

6f6jgbn4v8.jpg

Thanks for the kind words @art-venture! That's great that your cousin has started to play. Having music in my life has been extremely rewarding for me and I'm sure it will benefit them as well! I'll have to check out Avec Que La Marmotte! Maybe I'll make it my next new piece to learn. :) Is your cousin on Steemit?

Not yet, she is just 8 years old but who knows the children growing quickly and in teenage years already in social media too :)

Wow God bless your talent, a lovely and sublime sound .. I love your interpretation, you are very talented .. Congratulations for your deserved curie vote, a big hug @jackieobermeyer!!

Aw, thanks so much @naideth! It makes me really happy to know that the way I play connects with people. Big hug right back! :D Do you play any instruments?

No friend, I do not play any instrument, I really appreciate people who have that ability to play some musical instrument, it's a real talent ... I only draw, art is my passion @jackieobermeyer

It takes passion and beauty to play a violin and it will produce beautiful melody, I once heard that a painful melody can be differentiated from a joyful one as well but the way you played so emotionally with you eyes closed partially at interval, its so beautiful I love the harmony, and lastly why is it placed inside the shoulder held with the cheek?

I can't help but feel the music when I play, @josediccus. I love how it takes over my body when I'm able to surrender to it.

That position is the way I was taught to play it and, as far as I know, is a common way to hold the violin. I've seen a couple other people play with it pressed against the front of their shoulder, but this is more used in the Old Time fiddle style of music. With classical music, you need to be able to shift your left hand up and down the fingerboard and therefore can't be supporting the weight of the instrument with that hand. Holding it in between chin and shoulder supports it completely, allowing that left hand the freedom to move around and reach all of the higher positions. :)

Music always is a best medication in the world. It can cheer you up when you are sad, down or even happy. You played violin well. Violin always have a good melody and it can flow with your emotion on how you play it. How long you learn violin? I always curious when you play violin, does your ear hurt by the sound since it next to your ear. Have a nice day.

"Music always is a best medication in the world." - I totally agree @oliviackl!

Thank you for listening and for the kind words! I've been playing since I was 5 years old, so it's been 24 years now. It only hurts when I hit a wrong note! Haha. And it's more of a cringe than actual physical pain. It doesn't hurt my ear to be that close to it. :)

wow.. 24 years. You must love violin very much. Can feel your passionate with music and violin. Hope have chance listen to your next violin presentation.

I do love it! It's given me so much over the years. Thanks for listening! :) New stuff coming soon!

New stuff coming soon

Will wait for it

If you know how to use the violin very well, the sound you made took me to another world, my ancestral came out of my body and harmonized and returned a lot of love you did with the violin and peace to the soul @neymath10

That's so cool @neymarth10! I'm so glad that my music was able to facilitate that experience for you! I always love to hear about experiences like that. I view music as a tool to help us achieve an open state of mind to allow us to have those spiritual experiences. Does that happen for you with a specific type of music? Has that happened many times before? I'm curious to know more!

I have a great respect for those who can play a musical instrument, I can't. Always wanted to play the piano but had no chance during my childhood and then was not interested any more. Violin is an elegant instrument and you play it well. I agree with you, music has a healing power, I'm listening to music every time I need inspiration, strength or I'm sad. Congratulation, you're a real artist!

Thank you @erikah! I'm glad you enjoyed the music! Have you considered trying out other instruments? Maybe piano just wasn't the right instrument for you. There are so many out there to choose from!

No, unfortunately not but that's something to consider in the future :)

Congratulations @jackieobermeyer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79