Reply To AskDNomad#4: Can you imagine what you’ll be actually doing in long term (2-3 years) with Steemit ?

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

So once again its time answer the question of the day. I have been thinking of how for these past few days the process of making the video for the reply is helping me put my own thoughts together. I mean I don’t really do much in making the video………… except maybe that I must redo it a few times before I am able to decide on the final version that I’ll submit.

Yesterday @steemitadventure mentioned how Steemit is the place where a sense of community could be fostered, and a mutual support network could be developed. That thought deeply resonated with me and I need to have a higher SP so that my votes to my friends here could add to their rewards. Because I sure as hell am benefiting from their upvotes.

I have been targeting to increase my SP everyday one token at a time to be able to get the maximum advantage for my work on Steemit. The advantage of course comes from the fact that I have been able meet so many great folks who are adding value to my journey here and I am trying to do the same here as well.

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Thanks for the citation, My name appears for the first time on DLive. :=)
I don't agree with you about the pressure of establishing a numerical value for your intended future. As you establish it, you may change it if the circunstances demand it. You are not being forced by anyone to keep these initial numbers. They are only good for you to see if they are feasible or not. For example, you establish a goal of more 2000SP in two years. If, after one month, you got less than 80SP with all your effort, you know that or you try harder and differently or you change your goal. No pressures, only a way to know...Remember that nobody is judging you.

Hey man! I was worried that this video was going to go comment-less............... nah just kidding :-)

You are right that at the end of the day, the number is just a number and it might change depending on the circumstances. What I actually meant is that the things like these are kind of my bane.. Its not that I don't want to set a long term target in terms of a number but I am just worried that it would pressure me in ways that would make my performance suffer here on steemit. It feels a lot safer to stick to the plan and concentrate on the journey.........

Although, now that I say it out loud, it sounds a lot more lamer than it sounded in my head. You are right, I have revived no judgement here and only support and really don't have a reason to worry........... but mind is a really weird place ;D

Watched your other vid as well and it seems we have some pretty similar ideas on what blockchains could become etc.

If I had 500 to spend in your shoes I would prolly buy 400 in steem and maybe 100 in Eos just to hedge your bet. the steem you can immediately power up and use and dont forget to upvote yourself some with it. Then if you wanted later you could always cash some of the sbd out and use that to buy eos/whatever.

I think that's a pretty sound strategy. I did purchase a small amount of EOS and then I realized the problem with it. Unlike Steem I cannot use EOS to earn more like on steemit. Kind of makes Steem a better investment. On the other hand the crypto markets are so volatile that it instinctively also wants to make you hedge your investment and for that EOS seems a pretty viable option. I actually had a similar thing in mind but its better to hear some more opinions on it nevertheless.

Truthfully I am just trying to reach a conclusion only in my mind because its not like that I would be able to buy any tokens anytime soon. The only scenario is that I sell my other crypto to buy more stake here but my portfolio is in too much red to start withdrawing. Only option is to wait it out and keeping earning here and powering up the best I can.

The second thing is SBD. It's really nice to have them lying around. I want to keep my SBD in the liquid for now as there are a few things that I have in mind for them.

  • They are my emergency back up (my living situation is kind of unstable)
  • They are the buffer to my 500SP and 1000SP targets (If I fall short then I purchase Steem using SBD and power it up)
  • If all goes well then they'll help me attend steemfest and buy steemmonster cards.

Thanks a lot for sharing your plans with Steemit!

I really like the way your thinking your involvement and the learning process instead of chasing number of tokens!

I’m true believer that Blockchain technology still in its early stage and we should think more about contributing and learning.

I got your question and I’ve already prepared the answer and I’ll answer that in a separate vlog after I answered my Episode 2 & 3.

Keep up the good work dude :)

I was really hoping that you'd choose my video to answer this time :-) Thanks man!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68462.20
ETH 2502.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52