Steem Monsters || Making a DRAGON ROAR from scratch in Serum.

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

Hey guys, hope you're all doing well! In this video, I'll be walking you through how I made a 'dragon roar' sound effect from scratch in Serum. As @isaria and I have been plugging away at the music side of things, I wanted to do a little test run on the SFX side of the audio equation, just to see what was within my capability. I was pretty happy with the outcome! It's not very often nowadays that I have practical use for my sound design know-how, so I was excited to give this a try.

As my resources are fairly limited with having access to animals and creatures to record to layer a roar more organically, I tried my luck at crafting one synthetically in a wavetable synth.

Hope you enjoyed watching!

Follow @steemmonsters for more news and updates!

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

HA HA! I mean, cuz we all need to know how to make a sniff out of white noise, right? That is too cool. Thanks for teaching us this stuff. You know we love all your music over on Fan Fiction show!

Thanks so much @littlescribe! And I mean of course, replicating sniffs is such a practical life skill with thousands of applications. 😜

Exactly! Which is why we all think you're such a genius for spending so much time on learning the skill! Man, I would kill to see your resume.

Aw that means a lot @littlescribe, thank you! Careful calling me a genius though, I can already feel my head getting big ;)

That’s so cool man! I like the low end gurgly growling part at the end of the roar the most. Reminds me of predator a little bit. Serum looks like an amazing tool

Thanks a lot dude, glad you're diggin' it! Yeah Serum is fantastic. The way they have it set up, there is so much that you can do with it. I forgot to mention in the video, but even the source sound before all the post-processing has a ton of macros set up that are constantly morphing all the different parameters throughout the lifetime of the sound. Not a lot of plugins you can get that kind of flexibility with.

Is serum part of fl studio? Or an external plug in that would work on most DAWs?

No, not a part of FL. It's a third party plugin, made by a company called Xfer Records. Well worth the money in my opinion! https://www.xferrecords.com/products/serum

I am looking forward to it. Looks like a brilliant game to me .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58495.14
ETH 2461.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36