You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: D4: Dark Dreams Don't Die

in #dlive6 years ago

Oh, I was wishing I'd see your stream today. I've been busy re-learning the CAD tricks. I haven't used a CAD in ages so I'm a bit rusty now. I have been creating different sorts of basic designs for the arcade cabinet.

My first one was a disaster as I wanted to make a lot of rounded shapes, now I'm feeling like I'll just keep to a tried and tested form.

The first thing I needed to do was think about the ergonomics of it. My height is 179 cm, so I am thinking that I should use that as a reference height, to place the screen and the controls at an appropriate level. Since the viewing angle should be 15° I'm thinking that placing the screen deeper into the cabinet should help with people of different heights playing. I wonder if the controls should be of adjustable height or not. I've settled at 105cm for my personal preference.

Do you have any ideas I could employ?

Here's the very first quick free-hand mock up sketch I did after Miro asked what I was doing on my computer in CAD:


Click this if pic not visible.
(it's on ipfs, I don't understand how I can't get it seen on my browser.)

The first attempts in cad were a bit like this:

Screenshot_20180812_231535.png

I'll update you with some other shots when my drawings get better.

See ya!

Sort:  

Thank you for drawing all this up! I'm really digging your ideas, however I'm not sure I want to go with a full size cabinet just yet. There's a quarter size cabinet that's popular for bar tops... I'm thinking I'd like to keep it small and simple at first. I'll shoot you a message soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 66992.58
ETH 3460.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.68