Vlog 361: My last vlog for a while. SMT's release date makes the future clear and a cool user on-boarding insight.

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

I'm going to take a break from vlogging. At least till I'm back from Brasil and maybe a little while longer.

After the announcement by the Steemit Team yesterday announcing the release date of the SMT in March 2019 it's 100% clear for me where this blockchain is going.

There is no need to talk about it anymore.

The roadmap is clear, the development is clear and the timeline is clear.

But mostly the bigger picture is clear and it will have less and less to do with Steemit as we have known it and way more to do with empowering entrepreneurs/communities/apps to tokenise the web.

I would even go so far that I can make the prediction that when SMT's are released that the Steemit community as we have known it will slowly scatter and Steemians will build, re-build and follow the communities they want to be part of all over the internet and empower them all with their own token.

The 6 months announcement period is also perfect. Enough time to share the knowledge and enough time for developers/entrepreneurs to get ready. (If your app works with STEEM, I've been told it's not hard to implement an SMT's).

It's now up to everyone themselves to figure out if this future is worth investing in or not.

Personally there is no way that I as an individual will be bigger than this blockchain in the future. If anything I will become smaller and smaller. Which is exactly how it should be.

Being able to still earn and invest in STEEM today, especially considering the roll the STEEM token will get in this new world is marvellous and I'm jumping on the chance.

I did have one more cool insight yesterday that I completely oversaw and wanted to share and it has to do with on-boarding.

The cool thing about HF20 is that it will be possible for Dapps to onboard their own users by spending RC's (resource credits).

But that doesn't take the verification process away unless they want to take the risk of someone creating massive amounts of fake accounts with their RC's.

Then it hit me.

Users with Steempower (RC's) will be able to onboard other users too, it does not have to be through Dapps.

And when users can onboard users then there is no need for verification because you know they are real.

This will speed up things a lot and the bigger this blockchain becomes the faster it will go.

I talk about it more in my vlog.



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

As usual enjoyed this vlog and I learned something.

I agree that they are a lot of work but I disagree with your comment that your Vlog is no longer needed. Here are some points to keep in mind.

1.) You will likely be doing the research and reading necessary for the vlog anyway.

2.) You have built up a following (I'm addicted) that relies on you for the latest news and information. We need a reliable source!

3.) You say that you are earning less on these vlogs than on the lifestyle ones. I noticed the drop when you moved from DTube to DLive and I assumed that you made the move to help boost the profile of DLive.

I would gladly "pay" for your research by changing my vote on your Vlogs to 100% from my various accounts which I'll do starting with this one. Others likely feel the same way.

4.)With the inception of SMT's you'll have more information than ever to draw your inspiration from.

In Summary: Have a great trip to Brazil, take a break and come back stronger than ever with your great vlogs!

Haha! Addicted! Who'd the thought. Thanks! I'm looking forward to the trip and a break from research. I'll still be posting though and when I think of something cool about STEEM I'll share it ofcourse. Again, thanks for you nice comment. That's really cool.

Finally some nice positive feedback and comments from the recent news of clear launch dates for SMT. In the replies to @steemitblog i saw mostly criticism and complaints, which i think is a bit sad and disappointing, especially as it came from a lot of higher ranked members of the steemit community.

I think these are awesome news and it gives me a big relief. Some claim that posting a date so far away even makes things worse, while in the same time people have been complaining the whole year about Stemmit INC not beeing direct and transparent enough with information about the progress, thus i find it quite contradictive.

I think this announcement as this time is perfect, and should put people at easy, and as you mention it is even necesseary, as people who want to launch Smts need to know this time frame. Like you i will use this time wisely and collect more Steem.

Keep stacking the Steem! Get it while you can!

I sure will :) Thanks !

I don't understand why anyone could be negative about it. I think the timeline is realistic and the changes will lift the blockchain to new levels. I'm looking forward to HF20 first and all the changes that will bring. Easy signups and RC's will be cool!

Definitely a bright future up ahead !

Make an elauborate video to explain only about 'Easy Sign Up'. Easy sign up feature is going to expand steemit very fast in internet world.

If ever there was a "genuine" Steem ambassador for this blockchain, it's most definitely you. A constant source of knowledge, inspiration and positivity every single day for almost 2 years. That's some commitment!

Will miss these vlogs but something tells me you'll be back after a well-earned rest. Bless you, man and thanks for sharing your journey with us all. :)

I agree that he will be back and better than ever!

Surely, bud. :)

Thanks man! It sure has been a cool journey so far. But I'm afraid you will still have to lissen to my ramblings though on TS! lol!

More than happy to do that, man. :)

Will 2019 be the best year of Stemit?

It will be interesting to see where it all goes. In the meantime I think the idea is to earn as much Steem as possible.

It's what I would recommend too. Especially now that it's clear what is coming.

I'll miss your vlogs as they motivate me to keep amassing as many steem tokens as i can. Still.. you'll have the green egg posts which are always interesting and entertaining
Have a great time in Brazil :-)

Thank you! Keep in mind what is coming in the next 6 months it should give you plenty of motivation!

sure, take a break but come back. because your voice is absolutely important, without it i would not have learned as much as i have so far.

Thanks, man!

I will miss this series Mark and watching it every day. Like @ezzy said, maybe you'll reconsider after a well-deserved break. :)

Thanks for another wonderful video @exyle and enjoy your trip.

I would say your vlogs are still needed. There is so much to cover. As one who is continually writing about the STEEM blockchain myself, I know how much is taking place. Thus, while there might not be a lot to talk about with the blockchain itself, there is still a ton of activity regarding different projects to cover.

This is important information and not a ton of people are taking the time to research it and promote it. Someone like you, with a following, can really help kickstart a new project by getting it some attention. This is a role I think you should continue to embrace.

Yes it is time, effort and commitment, but it is also a valuable service to the entire ecosystem.

I will keep projects in mind. If I can promote a project I think it's cool I will of course. Although I fully expect this thing to grow pretty fast all by itself from now!

Wow man, you look so incredibly happy. Thank you so much for sharing your journey with us. I have thoroughly enjoyed your blogs and will miss you greatly. Steem is #1 and I am sticking with it long-term. Peace and love my Steem friend.

-Ken

Thank you. I still will be posting though. I'm with it long term too man!

Enjoy your well-deserved rest, @exyle! Then come back stronger than ever! Your voice here is really important.

I will! I'll blog about my trip of course. Just more laid back for a while.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30