Why I Hate Entrepreneurs

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Ok, I don't hate entrepreneurs, but I do hate the word entrepreneur. My disdain for the word is because it has been expropriated in modern culture as an exaltation of some ideal that everyone who has even an inkling of an idea or longing for "freedom" should reach out and become their own boss. While I do think that this is a net positive for society, I also feel like there is so much fake entrepreneurship right now. Call me the anti-entrepreneur, entrepreneur. Becuase I am so purebred with this shit that I would actually prefer to not be called an entrepreneur, just as I never wanted to be called that when I was younger.

But for now, I will continue to use the word because people generally understand that it means you are trying to build something. The day people REFER TO ME as an entrepreneur will be the day I will no longer use it to refer to myself

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

I have a similar reaction to the word entrepreneur. I'm trying to find a word or a phrase for what I'm doing (and looking to do better). "Ownership" is part of it, but not the whole. Successfully "using assets" is part of it, but not a great phrase.

I haven't found a good way to describe what I'm doing and what I'm after. "Business Owner"... really simple. Maybe. Doesn't express the bigger worldview that I see as integral to what I'm going after.

"business owner" I think i like that term and am going to start using it. It doesnt have the same connotations as "entrepreneur."

are you on discord? we should connect. I would love to learn more about what you are building.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83