MODULAR ACROSS AMERICA! Ep 03: Reade's Kingston Theatre, Kingston NY

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

For today’s episode of Modular Across America, join me in Reade’s Kingston Theatre, a delightfully decorated performance space first setup for the biggest vaudeville acts of the 1920s. The acoustic in here were pure cavernous magic, and while I didn’t have the facilities to project the modular through the PA for natural ambience, I think I dialed in a patch designed to very much fill the room with colorful, generative blips. This is probably the least melodically oriented patch I’ve done, but I was definitely looking for something alien to match the landscape.

Plaits has a chord mode that I’m using in conjunction with a triplet delay from the pico dsp … modulating the form of the chords in conjunction with some very simple sequencing is the only real upper register melodic element. Unsurprisingly, the Mangrove again finds itself on bass duties, primarily due to it’s onboard timbre modulation that infrequently necessitates additional filtering. For that matter, it can often be used as its own vca. In such a small case, the onboard tone shaping on Mangrove and pluckable low pass gate on the Plaits frees up the few existing vcas in my system for modulating the modulations themselves … making huge sweeping waves of nonsense into subtle sweeping waves of nonsense to great effect.

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Good music thank for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63326.84
ETH 2648.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82